Why did Anglo-Indian MLA issue enter Supreme Court before BSY floor test?

The Supreme Court stopped the Governor from nominating an MLA from Anglo-Indian community. Why?

Ever since the Karnataka Assembly Elections results were announced on May 15, the State has seen high political drama about who would form the next government. With the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) short of nine votes for simple majority on the floor of the House, where it has to prove its majority on May 19th, every vote becomes important. Though the Governor of Karnataka gave Yeddyurappa 15 days to prove his majority, the Supreme Court stepped in on May 18th and directed a floor test for the BJP to prove their majority on Saturday reducing the grace period awarded.

Among the multiple directives given by the Supreme Court, a particular one has caught the attention of political pundits: The court directed the government not to nominate an Anglo Indian MLA. Under Article 33 of the Constitution of India, every state in the country is legally bound to nominate one MLA from the community to the Assembly.

This tiny minority community suddenly became very important as the BJP government went on a wooing drive of the community. “I can confirm that at least a couple of our members were approached by the BJP with offers for the MLAship,” said Barry O Brien, President in Chief of the All India Anglo Indian Association confirmed to Citizen Matters.

The Association, however, in a bid to stay apolitical, wrote to the Governor of Karnataka on May 16th, asking him not to nominate an MLA from the community.

The letter read: “Sir, we implore you to protect our constitutional rights by not allowing any political party or group to use this nomination to seek political advantage for its own benefit or gain… We urge you, Sir, to nominate a person from our community only after the political process of installing a government is completed after the floor test.”

However, with no response to their letter, the Association filed a writ in the Supreme Court repeating this demand that an MLA representing the community should not be nominated till the time the floor test is completed. This was taken as an impleading application, in the ongoing case between G Parameshwar and Union of India regarding the floor test for the new government in Karnataka.

The  nominated Anglo Indian MLA from Karnataka for the 2013-18 term was Vinisha Nero. While a few media outlets reported that she was renominated by the Yeddyurappa Government, she denied these reports. “I have not been renominated to the Karnataka Assembly,” Nero confirmed to Citizen Matters when we contacted her over telephone.

The situation is somewhat similar to what happened in Jharkhand in 2005. Shibu Soren from Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) was asked to prove his majority on the floor of the house and the nomination of the Anglo Indian MLA was played out to the gallery, while the community did not want to get involved.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) had emerged as the single largest party with 30 of the 81 seats plus 6 more from its ally Janata Dal(U). JMM got 17 seats. The alliance was short of 6 seats to cross the halfway mark of 41. An Anglo-Indian MLA was nominated, adding one more vote to BJP’s kitty. The JMM along with the Congress and the RJD had 32 seats. In this case, the BJP won the vote of confidence. In Karnataka, the Anglo-Indian community went before the court and successfully stopped the governor from nominating one, even as efforts were underway to nominate one.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Mumbai, meet your new MPs from neighbouring Thane and Kalyan

Thane and Kalyan voters elected MPs from Eknath Shinde's Shiv Sena. Here is all you need to know about the two winning candidates.

Table of contentsThane: Naresh Mhaske, Shiv SenaElection results for Thane constituencyWho is Naresh Ganpat Mhaske?Political experienceChallenges in the Thane constituencyKey promises made by Naresh MhaskeKalyan: Dr. Shrikant Shinde, Shiv SenaElection results for Kalyan constituencyWho is Dr. Shrikant Shinde?MPLADs spending of Dr. Shrikant ShindePolitical experienceChallenges in the Kalyan constituencyKey promises made by Dr. Shrikant ShindeAlso read: Both the Thane and Kalyan constituencies have been bagged by the Shiv Sena (Eknath Shinde led faction) in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections. The two MPs who have been elected from Thane and Kalyan are Naresh Mhaske and Dr. Shrikant Shinde respectively. Here is comprehensive…

Similar Story

Bengaluru, meet your new MPs

The BJP secured a victory in all four parliamentary constituencies in Bengaluru. Here is a detailed report on the elected MPs.

Table of contentsBangalore North: Shobha Karandlaje, BJPElection resultsAbout Bangalore North constituencyShobha Karandlaje's political experience Positions heldEducationCriminal recordAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in the constituencyKey promisesBangalore South: Tejasvi Surya, BJPAbout Bangalore South constituencyElection resultsTejasvi Surya's political experiencePositions held:EducationCriminal recordMPLAD detailsAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in the constituencyKey promisesBangalore Central: PC Mohan, BJPAbout Bangalore Central constituencyElection resultsPC Mohan's political experience Positions held:EducationCriminal recordMPLADS detailsAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in constituencyKey promisesBangalore Rural: Dr CN Manjunath, BJPElection resultsAbout Bangalore Rural constituencyDr. CN Manjunath's political experience EducationCriminal recordAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in the constituencyKey promisesAlso read The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) secured a victory in all four Parliamentary Constituencies in Bengaluru in the 2024…