MLAs to meet next week on splitting Bengaluru

While the court expects BBMP elections by end of May, the state government tried another approach to dissolve BBMP and push elections out.

Even as the High Court division bench refused to grant an interim stay in the BBMP election case on Wednesday, the State government has decided to call for a special session in the Legislative Assembly on April 20th. The special session is called to pass a bill on amending Karnataka Municipal Corporation (KMC) Act, and enable disbanding the BBMP and trifurcating it.

Running short of time, the government is making every effort to dissolve the BBMP before the State Election Commission notifies the election dates. The decision on calling for the legislative session has come in the wake of the High Court divisional bench refusing to grant a stay on the single bench order to conduct the BBMP election by May 31st. The state government’s efforts to pass an ordinance on trifurcating BBMP too went in vain, with Governor Vajubhai Vala returning the ordinance seeking an explanation.

However, it may not be a smooth sail for the government to pass the KMC Amendment bill. Though the government has majority in the Assembly where the bill may be easily passed, it has less number of seats in the Legislative Council where the combined opposition are in majority. The bill, even if it is passed, has to get consent of the Governor to be introduced as an Act.

SEC gears up for election

The High Court’s refusal to grant a stay has come as a relief to the State Election Commission (SEC) which has gone ahead with the election preparation and is expected to announce the election dates within two to three days. The SEC will make its move on the election process based on the revised reservation roster of all BBMP wards as notified by the State government on April 13th.

In fact, State Election Commissioner P N Sreenivasachari convened a meeting of the officials including the BBMP Commissioner and Bengaluru Urban Deputy Commissioner, to discuss election preparations. The SEC has already appointed 35 Election Observers and 51 Returning Officers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Lok Sabha 2024: Know your MP – Manoj Kotak, Mumbai North East

Manoj Kotak, who was chosen instead of popular BJP leader Kirit Somaiya in 2019, has not got a BJP ticket to contest this time.

Name: Manoj Kotak Constituency: Mumbai North East Manoj Kotak started working for the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) in 1989. Before being elected as an MP from the Mumbai North East constituency in the 17th Lok Sabha elections (2019), he served as a Municipal Corporator from Mulund from 2007 to 2019. In the 2019 elections, Manoj Kotak got 56.61 percent of the total of 9,09,181 votes cast, getting 5,14,599 votes. He defeated his nearest rival, Sanjay Dina Patil of the NCP by 2,26,486 votes. Kotak was chosen to contest the elections instead of popular leader Kirit Somaiya, who was reportedly gearing…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: Bangalore South — Know your constituency and candidates

Bangalore South is considered the start up hub of the city, but it is plagued by infrastructural and environmental issues.

Bangalore South is one of the 28 Parliamentary constituencies in Karnataka and among the four in the city. Currently, this constituency comprises eight Legislative Assembly segments: Govindraj Nagar, Vijay Nagar, Chickpet, Basavanagudi, Padmanabhanagar, B.T.M. Layout, Jayanagar and Bommanahalli. All eight Legislative Assembly segments fall under Bangalore Urban District.  Bangalore South became a constituency in 1977, post the Emergency and after the reorganisation of constituencies across the country. The seat is currently being held by one of the youngest MPs in the 17th Lok Sabha elections, Tejasvi Surya, from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), who got elected in 2019 by over…