When will we have a real Master Plan for Bengaluru?

Wherever BDA shows its Master Plan, there are strong objections to it. People point out that it …

(a) .. is autocratic, having been developed with no input from the people of the city. It is almost as if it is being shown to us after everything is done and dusted, and only to comply with the legal requirement for ‘consultations’.

(b) … is ill-conceived. The idea that the existing BDA region can / should support twice the population we now have is foolhardy, besides being environmentally tenuous.

(c) … is unconstitutional, having followed none of the statutory processes for developing a plan as per law.

(d) … is wishful, given how little of its last plan BDA was able to implement. No lessons have been learned from previous failures, and no effort has been made to change how we plan the city. Almost certainly, this plan too will collapse (compliance with the last Plan was less than 10%).

A lot of people have pointed out to the government that BDA doesn’t have any clue what needs to be done. The people that it has put in charge of planning the city cannot even be presented outside its premises as planners. It is by virtue of their position that they pretend to know what is going on, but in fact they will reliably produce total disasters, and in the process embarrass the government repeatedly (e.g. steel flyover). Even the CM agreed with this assessment of the BDA !!

That being the case, why do they still do it this way? The answer is quite simple. There is a political economy around land in the city. And that economy depends strongly on secrecy in planning, and on protecting the vested interests of a few people rather than what is good for the city. Only when that changes can we have a real Master Plan. And the ‘masters’ of that plan will be the people of the city.

Related Articles

Bengaluru Master plan: Will RMP 2035 meet the fate of RMP 2015?
CAF sends inputs on Bengaluru master plan
City Master plan: BDA must get the vision right
BBMP checks no village maps or master plan, while sanctioning plans


  1. Antar Darshi says:

    Today’s (24-jan-2017) Deccan Herald e-paper (www.deccanheraldepaper.com) had a notice for a BDA Master Plan meeting at NMKRV College, Jayanagar, at 3pm in its “In City Today” section:
    BDA: Public consultation on Bengaluru Master Plan 2031, Mangala Bhavan, NMKRV College, 3 pm

    But, there was no such meeting. Did Deccan Herald make a mistake or is BDA playing games?!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: Chandni Chowk — Know your constituency and candidates

Delhi-based businessman, Praveen Khandelwal of the BJP takes on Congress' Jai Prakash Agarwal. Know more about them and other contenders.

Table of contentsAbout the constituencyMap of the Constituency Find your polling boothIncumbent MP: Harsh Vardhan, BJPOnline PresenceCriminal CasesPositions HeldPerformance in ParliamentMPLAD fundsCandidates contesting in 2024Key Candidates in the newsIssues of the constituencyAlso read About the constituency  Chandni Chowk Lok Sabha constituency is one of the seven Lok Sabha constituencies in the Indian National Capital Territory of Delhi. This constituency came into existence in 1956. It is the smallest constituency of Lok Sabha in terms of area. Since the delimitation of parliamentary constituencies in 2008, it is made up of ten assembly constituencies, which are Adarsh Nagar, Shalimar Bagh, Shakur Basti, Tri…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: West Delhi — Know your constituency and candidates

West Delhi will see Mahabal Mishra on an AAP ticket this time, against the BJP's Kamaljeet Sehrawat. More on them and others in the contest.

Table of contentsAt a glance- West Delhi ConstituencyFind your polling boothPast election resultsIncumbent MP: Parvesh Sahib Singh Verma, BJPCandidates contesting in 2024Additional informationKey candidates in the newsKey issues and challenges in the constituencyAlso read The Delhi West Lok Sabha constituency comprises ten Vidhan Sabha constituencies: 26-Madipur, 27-Rajouri Garden, 28-Hari Nagar, 29-Tilak Nagar, 30-Janakpuri, 31- Vikaspuri, 32-Uttam Nagar, 33-Dwarka, 34-Matiala, 35-Najafgarh. The first five fall in the West Delhi district and the next five in the South West Delhi district. The constituency as it exists today came into being in 2008 after the delimitation. The first member of Parliament to be…