What can the MPs do for Bangalore?

Media has been asking what Bangalore BJP MPs can do in new government, especially since the MPs are from the ruling party. Two things come to mind.

(a) Make the Commuter Rail project happen. This has been pending for so long, and for such flimsy reasons that it is a shame that we are the only metro without suburban rail connectivity. Over half a million people will benefit daily, and it will also lessen the load on the city. If we also figure out how to create a second airport in the south (between BLR and Mysore) and a new railway station to serve the southern suburbs, even better.

(b) Secure water supply for the metro region. Ten lakes in the area should be turned into major water reservoirs to augment the piped water supply. Rainfall in the BBMP area is roughly the same as the volume of Cauvery supply, and the BMRDA region is ten times larger than BBMP. Which means that even with 10% water harvesting on a regional scale, we can create one more Cauvery for the city. And in the process, the lakes will be revived too.

Both of these can equally be championed by the State government itself, and in fact that would make more sense. But we have reached a stage in our governance that we hope for gains from whichever quarter we can get them. 

Beyond wanting such things for ourselves, however, we must recognise that Parliament is a large institution, and it is actually unhelpful for each MP to see himself as a champion of development for his constituency alone. What we really need is to build a canvas for the country, from which gains flow naturally to every part of the nation. We can’t eliminate the pet projects entirely, but it will help to remember how, when Bihar and Bengal were getting daft pet projects funded, we were left fuming!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Bengaluru Citizen Clinic: Decoding property documentation

Property transaction can be confusing. Join us as for an online session where an expert will discuss the ABCs of property documentation.

Various documents are required at different stages to carry out property transactions in Bengaluru. If you are not adequately prepared, the complexity of regulations, rules, and procedures can be overwhelming and potentially lead to complications. Often, we don’t fully understand these requirements until we are directly involved in such a situation. Also, if we don’t ask the right questions at the appropriate times, we are more likely to make errors. In this citizen clinic, organised by Citizen Matters, an expert on property law will address questions from the public on the kinds of guide on land types, authorities, etc and…

Similar Story

Gig workers and heat: What do existing policies say?

In this video, activists and gig workers talk about the daily struggles of this group and the lack of facilities for them to cope with extreme weather.

This year has seen a scorching and extended summer all across the country. Tamil Nadu has been no different with the state capital, Chennai, recording 40.7 degrees Celsius in the peak of summer. As temperatures soared, the Greater Chennai Corporation issued an advisory, asking people not to step out of their homes between noon and 3 pm, and to cover their heads to protect themselves from the unbearable heat. Representative image: A food delivery worker during the pandemic. Pic: Nicholas Mirguet via Flickr But what if your job requires you to spend several hours out in the sun during peak…