Voter roll revision for 2020: How to enrol, verify or update your details

This Lok Sabha election, thousands of Bengalureans couldn't vote due to errors in the electoral rolls. The Election Commission is now holding a drive to update the roll and enlist new voters. Here's a guide on the process

This year, thousands of Bengalureans could not vote in the Lok Sabha election since their names went missing from the electoral rolls mysteriously. Among them were people who had voted in the assembly elections just last year. Thousands of applications for new enrolment also lay unprocessed for months before the election, which prevented many others from voting.

Those who couldn’t vote took to social media to voice their anger, and some even went to the High Court. The problem of voters missing from electoral rolls was reported from other cities too.

From September 1st to October 15th, Election Commission of India (ECI) is conducting a nationwide Electors Verification Programme (EVP) to update the rolls and correct errors. Over this period, you can verify and update your details, or enrol as new voter. The draft rolls after verification will be published in January 2020.

Documents required for verification

For inclusion, deletion, verification and correction of details in the electoral roll, one of these documents is required:

  • Indian passport
  • Driving license
  • Aadhaar card
  • Ration card
  • Identity card for government/semi-government officials
  • Bank pass book
  • Farmer’s identity card
  • Any other document approved by the ECI

How to verify your details online?

You can check your details at:

Services available at online portals

  • Verifying and correcting your existing details
  • Furnishing details of family members and verifying their entries 
  • Updating details of family members already enrolled as voters, but permanently shifted or expired
  • Furnishing details of eligible un-enrolled family members (born on or before 1st January, 2001) and of prospective electors (born between 2nd January, 2002 and 1st January, 2003) who reside with you
  • Furnishing GIS Coordinates of your house through mobile app, to avail better electoral services
  • Giving feedback on existing polling stations, and suggestions on alternate polling stations if any

Step-by-step guide to these processes.

If you want to enrol as a new voter, here is a more detailed guide.

According to the ECI, one-time authentication of details and sharing of contact details would help electors  get updates on the status of their voter ID card, election day announcements, voter slip etc on their registered email and mobile number. Regular notifications on polling stations, change in BLO/ERO etc will also be shared with electors.

Physical verification of details

To verify details physically, you may visit the following centres, as mentioned on the website of the Chief Electoral Officer, Karnataka:

Each Common Services Centre (CSC) will charge a nominal fee of around Rs 1 for uploading a document, and Rs 2 for uploading a photo. Rs 1 will be charged for submitting forms like Form 6 too. However, the fee displayed at each CSC may vary slightly.


  1. Thousif says:

    Nice Article. A video also on how to do online revision of Voter ID would have helped.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Lok Sabha 2024: Know your MP — Parvesh Sahib Singh Verma, West Delhi

Parvesh Verma, who is the son of former Delhi chief minister Sahib Singh Verma, has made rapid progress in the BJP in past decade.

Parvesh Sahib Singh Verma is the incumbent MP for West Delhi Lok Sabha Constituency. He is a member of the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party and has won from West Delhi twice, in 2014 and 2019. Parvesh Verma is one of the many rising young stars in the BJP, who got elected in 2014 at the age of 36. He is the son of the former chief minister of Delhi, Sahib Singh Verma. He also served as an MLA, getting elected from Mehrauli in 2013. With the rise of Narendra Modi and the advent of AAP in Delhi, Verma got elected…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha 2024: Know your MP – Manoj Kumar Tiwari, North East Delhi

Former Bhojpuri actor Manoj Kumar Tiwari has represented the North East Delhi constituency for two consecutive terms. A look at his last tenure

Manoj Kumar Tiwari is a two-time Lok Sabha member representing the North East Delhi constituency. He was an actor-singer in the Bhojpuri film industry. He began his political career with the Samajwadi Party; he contested and lost the 2009 Lok Sabha election from Gorakhpur constituency in Uttar Pradesh. He then joined the BJP in 2013, contesting the 2014 and 2019 Lok Sabha elections from North East Delhi Constituency, and emerging victorious in both.   Read more: Lok Sabha 2024: A people’s manifesto for urban areas In 2019, Tiwari got 53.9% of the 16,35,204 votes cast in the constituency, which was 25%…