Refining voter list not rocket science, needs only will power

Some of the voter records in Bangalore are duplicated within the same voter list, in some other voter list within the constituency, in other constituencies of the state or in other states.

One of the banes of electoral rolls in the country is the rampant duplicate entries. Voter records are duplicated (a) within the same voter list, (b) in some other voter list within the constituency, (c) in other constituencies of the state or (d) in other states.

For the past four years CEO-Karnataka has been telling that they have great software using fuzzy logic, capable of identifying all kinds of duplicates. CEO also told in February 2013 that his organisation deleted about 65,000 duplicate records identified by software and considered that there are no more duplicate entries.

However, in the electoral rolls of 28 constituencies of Bangalore districts published on 02 May 2013, just before the elections on 04 May, we find about 6,00,000 sets of entries with identical name, sex, age, and relation name.

Most of such sets have two records each though some have more. About 82,000 of the records are repeated within the same voter list, which is easy to detect. As a common sense feature, data entry software should have blocked such entries. I wonder what kind of verification the EROs did before approving the entries.

Even some MLAs and their spouses have duplicate voter records. This, even after being reported to CEO-Karnataka, resulted in no action.

The CEO agreed later that duplicate entries were allowed so that no voter was excluded. We have a situation where about 2,00,000 of the mass-deleted voters are not yet restored, but have lakhs of duplicate and fake entries. CEO-Karnataka is not acting to delete wrong entries; and not including the ones whom he has illegally deleted, doing injustice to the voters of Karnataka.

On a different note, we hear from the authorities that de-duplicating records is difficult. To prove it otherwise, I have identified suspected duplicates for 8 states/UTs and sent the lists to ECI recommending that using a software the CEOs compare photographs of the suspected duplicates and narrow down the list for field verification. Common citizens do not have access to the photographs of voters. That is fair.

Voter list duplicated in AP and Delhi?

Comparing 1.09 crore Delhi voters and 67 lakh from Bangalore, we find more than 5,800 sets of records with matching name, sex, age, and relative name. Between 5.78 crore voters of AP and 67 lakh of Bangalore, we find 53,000 such sets. If we allow for difference in age by one to two years, then we get about thrice as many match record sets.

This and many other ills of electoral rolls are not self-healing – they will get worse if not attended. We need corrective as well as preventive measures to improve the quality of the rolls. This is not a rocket science. I could do all the above work using my humble PC, in my spare time.

With some support from ECI and CEOs I can do more. CEO-Karnataka has only ignored my feedback and has been disruptive on occasions. I have given the de-duplication software to ECI and showed them how to use it. It is not a rocket science. Using common sense approach we can do it easily with low end PCs. We need some professionalism, accountability and commitment.

If there is will, there are many ways. By ‘will’ I mean a fixed and persistent intent or purpose – and not a legal document declaring a person’s wishes regarding the disposal of his property on his death.

Related Articles

New voter lists: Lakhs still missing!
10 lakh voters deleted from rolls for Bengaluru
State Election Commission orders voter roll checking after citizens detect goof up

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Mumbai, meet your new MPs from neighbouring Thane and Kalyan

Thane and Kalyan voters elected MPs from Eknath Shinde's Shiv Sena. Here is all you need to know about the two winning candidates.

Table of contentsThane: Naresh Mhaske, Shiv SenaElection results for Thane constituencyWho is Naresh Ganpat Mhaske?Political experienceChallenges in the Thane constituencyKey promises made by Naresh MhaskeKalyan: Dr. Shrikant Shinde, Shiv SenaElection results for Kalyan constituencyWho is Dr. Shrikant Shinde?MPLADs spending of Dr. Shrikant ShindePolitical experienceChallenges in the Kalyan constituencyKey promises made by Dr. Shrikant ShindeAlso read: Both the Thane and Kalyan constituencies have been bagged by the Shiv Sena (Eknath Shinde led faction) in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections. The two MPs who have been elected from Thane and Kalyan are Naresh Mhaske and Dr. Shrikant Shinde respectively. Here is comprehensive…

Similar Story

Bengaluru, meet your new MPs

The BJP secured a victory in all four parliamentary constituencies in Bengaluru. Here is a detailed report on the elected MPs.

Table of contentsBangalore North: Shobha Karandlaje, BJPElection resultsAbout Bangalore North constituencyShobha Karandlaje's political experience Positions heldEducationCriminal recordAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in the constituencyKey promisesBangalore South: Tejasvi Surya, BJPAbout Bangalore South constituencyElection resultsTejasvi Surya's political experiencePositions held:EducationCriminal recordMPLAD detailsAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in the constituencyKey promisesBangalore Central: PC Mohan, BJPAbout Bangalore Central constituencyElection resultsPC Mohan's political experience Positions held:EducationCriminal recordMPLADS detailsAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in constituencyKey promisesBangalore Rural: Dr CN Manjunath, BJPElection resultsAbout Bangalore Rural constituencyDr. CN Manjunath's political experience EducationCriminal recordAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in the constituencyKey promisesAlso read The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) secured a victory in all four Parliamentary Constituencies in Bengaluru in the 2024…