Vijayanagar voter guide: Candidates and constituency info

Find out how Vijayanagar Assembly Constituency to the south-west of the city is faring and about the major issues in this constituency

Find out how Vijayanagar Assembly Constituency is faring and what the major issues in this constituency are. Learn about the incumbent MLA M Krishnappa (INC) and other candidates, including Ramesh Bellamkonda (AAP), H Raveendra (BJP).

About the constituency

Vijayanagar Constituency is the northernmost area in South Bengaluru. This constituency is surrounded by Mysore Road and Magadi Road, while Chord Road runs through it. Vijayanagar comprises of wards 156-Kempapura Agrahara,157-Vijayanagar, 158-Hosahalli, 159-Hampi Nagar, 160-Bapuji Nagar, 161-Attiguppe, 162-Gali Anjenaya Temple ward, 163-Veerabhadranagar and 164-Avalahalli.

The constituency has several residential pockets scattered with areas of commercial activity. The metro line runs along the western edge of the constituency.

M Krishnappa is the sitting MLA of this constituency and Tejasvi Surya, BJP, is the MP of Bangalore South Parliamentary constituency.

At a glance

Constituency NameVijayanagar
Constituency No167
Constituency Area (in sq km
Number of voters (January 2023)2,90,082
Male voters1,51,418
Female voters1,38,497
Other voters167

Data for all 28 constituencies can be found here. Corresponding source:

Key issues in the constituency

Vijayanagar was in the news for its flooding woes. Rain and sewage water from overflowing drains had flooded the area near Attiguppe metro station causing losses to individuals and commercial establishments alike.

Vijayanagar lacks proper bus shelters say residents. They were not reconstructed after Metro works were completed.

Key parameters – How does this constituency fare? 

*Based on their performance in each sector, constituencies are divided into three groups. High=top nine constituencies; Medium = mid nine constituencies; Low = bottom nine constituencies. A ‘High’ rating does not necessarily mean the constituency is doing well; it only means that the constituency is among the top nine constituencies for that parameter.


Metrics / CountRating*
17 Govt Schools 1 school for 0.49 sq KmHigh

Vijayanagar, given its small area v/s the number of government schools is one of the top 9 constituencies rated High.


Metrics / CountRating*
4 Metro StationsNo Rating
28 Bus StopsMedium
8.83 Bus trips per 100 residents dailyLow

Vijayanagar has 4 Metro stations. But, the constituency rated medium in terms of number of bus stops per sq km and low for the number of bus trips per 100 residents.

Citizen engagement

Metrics / CountRating*
Voter turnout
2013: 56.47%
2018: 49.04%
14.08% decline
115 ward committee meetings Low
14.4 meetings per wardLow

Voter turnout has been low for the years 2013 and 2018 elections. In 2018 there was a decline of 14.08%.
Vijayanagar also has a low rating for ward committee meetings between 2020 and 22.


We have not rated public health infrastructure as the data available was inadequate, and the data is simply presented as is.

Metrics / CountRating*
3 Namma clinics
55 Anganawadis
0 BBMP hospitals (general and maternity)

Please note that the number of PHCs or Namma Clinic within a constituency is not sufficient to draw conclusions about the state of healthcare. We also need data on the availability of staff and their capacity, medicines, equipment, diagnostic facilities. Quality is also determined by the distribution and access of these facilities within the area, the efforts in preventive/promotive healthcare and community participation, in addition to the process challenges, for e.g., insistence of Aadhar or Thayi cards.

Click here for the details on how all constituencies fare and their source(s)

Constituency map

Vijayanagar Assembly Constituency map

Incumbent MLA: M Krishnappa

The incumbent MLA M Krishnappa is a 3-time MLA from the Indian National Congress (INC). He was a MLC prior to that between 2000 and 2006. He is member of the All India Congress Committee (AICC) and has been the treasurer of the Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee (KPCC).

Krishnappa was the Housing Minister from 2016-18 when the Congress Party was in power. He has a BSc degree from Sri Jagadguru Renukacharya College Bangalore University in 1973. He is also a Real Estate businessman and an agriculturist.

His attendance in the assembly was 62.33%

In the news

  1. During Ugadi, there was a clash between BJP and Congress supporters. Vijayanagar had a problem of too many political banners and flexes.
  2. The MLA had requested the state government for Rs. 25 Cr for a Kempegowda Bhavan / convention hall in the constituency and in March 2023. It was approved.

List of candidates

Incumbent MLA: M Krishnappa, INC

Wealth declaration 

DetailsHoldings in 2018Holdings in 2023Change in %
Movable Assets72.84 Cr103.82 Cr42.53% increase
Immovable property163.33 Cr192.44 Cr17.82% increase
Liabilities66.45 Cr77.15 Cr16.10% increase
Total236.17 Cr296.26 Cr25.44% increase


Candidate: Ramesh Bellamkonda, AAP

Ramesh is a first time MLA candidate from AAP. He has no elected office experience.

Candidate: H Ravindra, BJP

Full list of candidates

Past elections results

2018CandidateSexPartyVote Share (%)
1M Krishnappa MINC46.90%
2H. RavindraMBJP45.13%

Also read:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Lok Sabha 2024: Know your MP — Parvesh Sahib Singh Verma, West Delhi

Parvesh Verma, who is the son of former Delhi chief minister Sahib Singh Verma, has made rapid progress in the BJP in past decade.

Parvesh Sahib Singh Verma is the incumbent MP for West Delhi Lok Sabha Constituency. He is a member of the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party and has won from West Delhi twice, in 2014 and 2019. Parvesh Verma is one of the many rising young stars in the BJP, who got elected in 2014 at the age of 36. He is the son of the former chief minister of Delhi, Sahib Singh Verma. He also served as an MLA, getting elected from Mehrauli in 2013. With the rise of Narendra Modi and the advent of AAP in Delhi, Verma got elected…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha 2024: Know your MP – Manoj Kumar Tiwari, North East Delhi

Former Bhojpuri actor Manoj Kumar Tiwari has represented the North East Delhi constituency for two consecutive terms. A look at his last tenure

Manoj Kumar Tiwari is a two-time Lok Sabha member representing the North East Delhi constituency. He was an actor-singer in the Bhojpuri film industry. He began his political career with the Samajwadi Party; he contested and lost the 2009 Lok Sabha election from Gorakhpur constituency in Uttar Pradesh. He then joined the BJP in 2013, contesting the 2014 and 2019 Lok Sabha elections from North East Delhi Constituency, and emerging victorious in both.   Read more: Lok Sabha 2024: A people’s manifesto for urban areas In 2019, Tiwari got 53.9% of the 16,35,204 votes cast in the constituency, which was 25%…