HC asks State govt to defend diluted planning rules or withdraw

State govt admits to having amended the master plan, in the hearing of the writ petition filed by Citizen Action Forum asking the High Court to quash the amendment.

The Bangalore Development Authority (BDA) submitted an affidavit to High Court of Karnataka on Wednesday February 18th 2015, in which they held the State government responsible of making changes to the Revised Master Plan (RMP)-2015 recently in which the conditions for commercial use of land were relaxed.

The BDA had come under fire from civic groups for making changes in the Zoning Regulations of Bangalore’s Revised Master Plan – 2015 in contrary to the affidavit submitted to the High Court of Karnataka last year.

The background

It was exactly a year ago that the High Court had given an order (on February 19th, 2014) directing  the State government to amend land use rules of the BDA’s Revised Master Plan so as to allow only the ancillary use of residential properties in selected areas. Ancillary land use is the utilisation of the area for providing essential services to people living in the area, such as barber’s shop, milk, grocery and other necessities.

The order was in response to the Public Interest Litigation filed in 2008 by civic groups who had challenged  the Draft Revised Master Plan BDA – 2015, prepared by the BDA that permitted commercial use of residential areas, through a land use category called “mixed residential.”

During the course of hearing, the BDA had submitted an affidavit of making necessary changes in the Draft Revised Master Plan. The writ petition was then disposed of by the High Court based on the affidavit filed by the BDA.

However, the final notification of the Zoning Regulations published by the Urban Development Department Secretariat on December 11th, 2014, was in contrary to the affidavit submitted by the BDA. The civic group members led by Namma Bengaluru Foundation (NBF) filed an instant writ petition in the HC on January 21th, 2015, praying for quashing of the final notification of the RMP published by the government.

When the case came up for hearing before the bench comprising Justice D H Waghela and Justice Ram Mohan Reddy on February 18th 2015, the advocates arguing on behalf of the petitioners accused the BDA of violating its own undertaking before the High Court. The petition said the amended regulations were completely arbitrary contrary to the affidavit. “It frustrates the very object of several Town and Country Planning enactments which seek to promote orderly and planned development of Bengaluru city,” the petition said.

In turn, second respondent – the BDA said that it had made changes in the zonal regulations in accordance with the affidavit and had forwarded it to the State government. The BDA accused the government of making extra changes and tweaking the regulations before notifying it.

Judges ask the govt to decide action

The counsel for the State government (Respondent 1) admitted to having made the changes in the regulations before notifying it. He said the notification with changes was published as draft notification calling for objections, after which the final notification was published.

The court which heard both the sides, sought to know if the government could supersede the affidavit and bring changes in the notification. The judges said the court would initiate suo motu contempt proceedings, if the government or BDA is found to be at fault.

The judges asked the government to decide whether it will defend the changes made or withdraw the changes and convey the court in the next hearing. The judges also asked the petitioner to identify and furnish details of the area where amendments have been taken benefit of in last two months.

The judges sought the presence of the BBMP commissioner in its next hearing. The court posted the hearing to February 23.


  1. skeptic says:

    Nice cosy relationship – the government will do whatever it likes again and again and again and the HC will ‘order’ it to do the right thing again and again and again. So why not include it in the process and be done with it? I guess repeating mistakes that cost the taxpayer money is not a punishable offence and feigning stupidity is a qualification for the job and so it ignoring the obvious and taking an avuncular attitude to such acts.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Lok Sabha 2024: Know your MP – Manoj Kotak, Mumbai North East

Manoj Kotak, who was chosen instead of popular BJP leader Kirit Somaiya in 2019, has not got a BJP ticket to contest this time.

Name: Manoj Kotak Constituency: Mumbai North East Manoj Kotak started working for the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) in 1989. Before being elected as an MP from the Mumbai North East constituency in the 17th Lok Sabha elections (2019), he served as a Municipal Corporator from Mulund from 2007 to 2019. In the 2019 elections, Manoj Kotak got 56.61 percent of the total of 9,09,181 votes cast, getting 5,14,599 votes. He defeated his nearest rival, Sanjay Dina Patil of the NCP by 2,26,486 votes. Kotak was chosen to contest the elections instead of popular leader Kirit Somaiya, who was reportedly gearing…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: Bangalore South — Know your constituency and candidates

Bangalore South is considered the start up hub of the city, but it is plagued by infrastructural and environmental issues.

Bangalore South is one of the 28 Parliamentary constituencies in Karnataka and among the four in the city. Currently, this constituency comprises eight Legislative Assembly segments: Govindraj Nagar, Vijay Nagar, Chickpet, Basavanagudi, Padmanabhanagar, B.T.M. Layout, Jayanagar and Bommanahalli. All eight Legislative Assembly segments fall under Bangalore Urban District.  Bangalore South became a constituency in 1977, post the Emergency and after the reorganisation of constituencies across the country. The seat is currently being held by one of the youngest MPs in the 17th Lok Sabha elections, Tejasvi Surya, from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), who got elected in 2019 by over…