Should BBMP be split into smaller bodies?

It was ironic to see the Chief Minister wonder on the Kasa Muktha programme, if BBMP should be split into smaller municipal bodies. Of course it should be. But the question should not be reduced to such a simplistic one. There is a whole lot more to consider.

(a) If we say that the ideal city is of a certain size, say no more than 2.5 million, then we should ask ourselves what we will do in 2023, when Bangalore’s population is higher by another 2.5 million people.

(b) What about fast urbanising areas outside BBMP? Why do we continue to pretend that those are ‘panchayat’ areas when they are clearly not?

(c) Why do BWSSB, BMTC and other service providers behave as though their obligation to the core/old Bangalore is different from their obligation to the newer areas? Does this mean, if BBMP is split into a core city and several others around it, the state government will go back to treating the suburbs as second-class cities?

(d) Instead of wondering what is to be done, why not read the constitution and the law? What happened to setting up the MPC for regional planning? The lack of a planning body is glaringly obvious.

(e) Why not let the cities run at their own pace? Why should the state government get involved in potholes and solid waste and all sorts of municipal issues? Is that what the CM plans to do in Mysore, Mangalore and Hubli too?

Sir, you are Chief Minister of the State, with a clear mandate. Please drive the economy and the governance of our institutions, and trust the cities to make the most of their own powers, plus others you should devolve to them. We will never be able to build a great city – not just Bangalore, but any other – unless we first accept that cities have a right to their own impetus for development, without constant interference from the state government. If the Centre treated our State government the way the State treats the city, would we accept that?


  1. Vasanthkumar Mysoremath says:

    Mr.Mahesh Ashwin is right. Big is not beautiful always since there may be many factors that go into its working. Whose garbage is it anyway? For decades people have been claiming their Rights under the Constitution without caring for Duties and Responsibilities that follow those Rights. Kasa belongs to everybody, not only to BBMP, just because people pay taxes, it does not mean that the Commissioner of BBMP must come and sweep the street if a PK is absent. Like people have the Right to litter, there are others who have a Right to live in clean environs. Respect this also and start behaving or else Dandam Dashagunam Bhaveti. All of us had it coming and time to act is NOW. We must stop and think before we throw anything anywhere. At the same time, authorities must also be responsible and provide necessary facilities to help people stop littering.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: North East Delhi — Know your constituency and candidates

In the high profile contest for North East Delhi, BJP's star MP Manoj Tiwari takes on the firebrand Kanhaiya Kumar (INC). Who are the others?

Table of contentsAbout the constituencyAt a glanceMap of the constituencyFind your polling boothPast election resultsIncumbent MP : Manoj Kumar TiwariOnline presenceCriminal casesPositions heldAssets and LiabilitiesPerformance in ParliamentMPLAD funds utilisationCandidates contesting in 2024Key candidates in the newsIssues of the constituencyAlso read About the constituency Well known for its high migrant labour population from the states of Haryana, Uttar Pradesh and Bihar, North East Delhi constituency comprises the following areas: Burari, Timarpur, Karawal Nagar, Ghonda, Babarpur, Gokalpur (SC), Seemapuri (SC), Seelampur, Rohtas Nagar and Mustafabad. This constituency has the highest average population density of 36,155 persons per square km — the highest…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: Chandni Chowk — Know your constituency and candidates

Delhi-based businessman, Praveen Khandelwal of the BJP takes on Congress' Jai Prakash Agarwal. Know more about them and other contenders.

Table of contentsAbout the constituencyMap of the Constituency Find your polling boothIncumbent MP: Harsh Vardhan, BJPOnline PresenceCriminal CasesPositions HeldPerformance in ParliamentMPLAD fundsCandidates contesting in 2024Key Candidates in the newsIssues of the constituencyAlso read About the constituency  Chandni Chowk Lok Sabha constituency is one of the seven Lok Sabha constituencies in the Indian National Capital Territory of Delhi. This constituency came into existence in 1956. It is the smallest constituency of Lok Sabha in terms of area. Since the delimitation of parliamentary constituencies in 2008, it is made up of ten assembly constituencies, which are Adarsh Nagar, Shalimar Bagh, Shakur Basti, Tri…