Rs 4000 a month: Salary of a contract street sweeper in Bengaluru!

They work every day without any leave. Contractors get paid by BBMP but don't pay the contract workers their due salary. The protest highlighted the unfair practices followed by BBMP contractors.

Over 1000 contract pourakarmikas working in eight zones of BBMP and many supporters gathered on Wednesday at the BBMP head office protesting against the failure of the contractors to pay them monthly wages and BBMPs indifferent attitude in ensuring that powrakarmikas get paid the minimum wages and wages on time.

Pourakarmikas from Sunkadakatte area have not been paid since four months. Some of them have not paid their rent and have been thrown out of their rented accommodation by their house owners. In Mathikere, powrakarmikas are being paid only Rs 4,000 a month which is far less than even the earlier  minimum wage which was fixed in 2012!

Pic courtesy: Hari Adivarekar

Most of the contract pourakarmikas are not given the benefits of ESI and PF as mandated under the law. These are just a few examples of how the rich and corrupt contractors are stealing the wages of the poor!

The reasons for the protest were:

• DELAYED WAGE PAYMENTS:They have not been paid their wages for a period of 2 to 4 months
• LOWER THAN MINIMUM WAGES: They get paid less than official minimum wage of Rs. 6,553. BBMP gives almost Rs. 30 crores every month for solid waste management to several contractors. However the powrakarmikas who actually do the work not even get paid their monthly wages.
• NO HOLIDAYS: They work seven days a week, 365 days a year, without a single days rest. Irrespective of illness or death or celebration in the family, irrespective of rain, sun or cold, they have to work.
• HAZARDOUS WORK: They are prone to several illnesses and occupational health hazards due to the dangerous nature of their work and are not provided any safety equipment.
• The women powrakarmikas are harassed verbally and sometimes physically from the contractors’ men.

The pourakarmikas had to wait for several hours before the BBMP Commissioner Shri Lakshminarayana met with a delegation and held detailed discussions with them. The pourakarmikas vented their anger at the inhuman attitude of the BBMP. They pointed out to the commissioner that as per the Contract Labour (Regulation and Abolition)Act 1970, even though the contractor does not pay the wages to contract staff (the powrakarmikas) it is the duty of the principal employer (BBMP) to pay the powrakarmikas and they can then recover the amount from the contractor.

Pic courtesy: Hari Adivarekar

Subsequently the commissioner came out and addressed the gathering and assured the following.

1)That a notice will be sent to all the contractors saying that the statutorily fixed minimum wage is Rs 8558 a month. After deductions for PF and ESI, the powrakarmikas need to be paid Rs 6553/month take home salary.

2)The contractors will be directed to pay the notified minbimum wages on time and also pay all the dues including arrears immediately, failing which the BBMP will make good the payments and recover the same from the contractor besides taking further co-oercive action against them including blacklisting them.

He also promised a detailed meeting with the union representatives wihin the next week to discuss the other demands of the pourakarmikas. He said written orders will be issued to ensure the above assurances are carried out. Based on the Commissioners assurance, the protest was called off.

The pourakarmikas vowed to resume with the struggle in case the demands are not acted upon soon.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Mumbai, meet your new MPs from neighbouring Thane and Kalyan

Thane and Kalyan voters elected MPs from Eknath Shinde's Shiv Sena. Here is all you need to know about the two winning candidates.

Table of contentsThane: Naresh Mhaske, Shiv SenaElection results for Thane constituencyWho is Naresh Ganpat Mhaske?Political experienceChallenges in the Thane constituencyKey promises made by Naresh MhaskeKalyan: Dr. Shrikant Shinde, Shiv SenaElection results for Kalyan constituencyWho is Dr. Shrikant Shinde?MPLADs spending of Dr. Shrikant ShindePolitical experienceChallenges in the Kalyan constituencyKey promises made by Dr. Shrikant ShindeAlso read: Both the Thane and Kalyan constituencies have been bagged by the Shiv Sena (Eknath Shinde led faction) in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections. The two MPs who have been elected from Thane and Kalyan are Naresh Mhaske and Dr. Shrikant Shinde respectively. Here is comprehensive…

Similar Story

Bengaluru, meet your new MPs

The BJP secured a victory in all four parliamentary constituencies in Bengaluru. Here is a detailed report on the elected MPs.

Table of contentsBangalore North: Shobha Karandlaje, BJPElection resultsAbout Bangalore North constituencyShobha Karandlaje's political experience Positions heldEducationCriminal recordAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in the constituencyKey promisesBangalore South: Tejasvi Surya, BJPAbout Bangalore South constituencyElection resultsTejasvi Surya's political experiencePositions held:EducationCriminal recordMPLAD detailsAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in the constituencyKey promisesBangalore Central: PC Mohan, BJPAbout Bangalore Central constituencyElection resultsPC Mohan's political experience Positions held:EducationCriminal recordMPLADS detailsAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in constituencyKey promisesBangalore Rural: Dr CN Manjunath, BJPElection resultsAbout Bangalore Rural constituencyDr. CN Manjunath's political experience EducationCriminal recordAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in the constituencyKey promisesAlso read The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) secured a victory in all four Parliamentary Constituencies in Bengaluru in the 2024…