Political parties to march in Bengaluru for clean politics on Oct 2

Lok Satta, Aam Aadmi Party and JD(U) have organised a walk on October 2 in Bangalore, from M G Road to Anand Rao Circle, demanding de-criminalisation of politics.

The Supreme Court recently barred criminals from contesting elections, and also ruled that convicted MLAs and MPs would lose their seats. Our politicians immediately tried to overturn this through an Ordinance, approved by the entire cabinet. The other parties, which are supposed to provide opposition to such dubious steps, also kept quiet because such moves benefit them too. But there is no doubt that this retrograde step will infinitely harm democracy in India. 

Speaking to the media at Bangalore Press Club, JD(U) State President M P Nadagouda said:  “On September 14 we held a conference on Electoral Reforms. After the conference a meeting was held under the chairmanship of Freedom Fighter H S Doreswamy and was agreed to continue the fight for this cause. As part of this continued fight, we have organised a Walk For Democracy on Gandhi Jayanthi day.”

LokSatta Party leader Ravi Krishna Reddy said: “The present system does not allow honest and clean politics. Unless the rules of the game are changed and rule of law applicable to all, the present system will not encourage True Democracy,  It is time all of us come together to fight this battle.

Siddarth Sharma of Aam Admi Party said the demands are:

  1. The laws of the country must not, under any circumstance, allow convicted persons to remain elected representatives.
  2. The Election Commission must be fully empowered to and held accountable to ensure that money power in elections is reduced progressively and eliminated.
  3. The Election Commission must be held accountable to ensure easy registration of voters, including in all colleges and through post offices, and that the voter rolls should be accurate, and continuoulsy updated, with penalties applicable for errors and deficiencies in registration.

Walk begins at Mahatma Gandhi statue on M.G Road at 9:30am and culminates at Gandhi statue in Anand Rao Circle. The route will be MG Road, Kasturba Road, Mallya Hospital, NR Circle, Mysore Bank and Anand Rao Circle.

“We request all citizens to join this march to demand political reforms and remind the world that the real tribute to Mahatma Gandhi is true democracy,” says a joint press release from all the three parties.

Related Articles

Loksatta urges govt to subsidise public transport
Sachidanandanagar khata saga: Gandhigiri part two
Celebrate the spirit of Mahatma; Celebrate the Joy of Giving

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: East Delhi — Know your constituency and candidates

BJP candidate Harsh Malhotra is up against AAP candidate Kuldeep Kumar in East Delhi. Take a look at their profiles and of others in the fray.

Table of contentsAbout the constituencyMap of the constituencyFind your polling boothIncumbent MP : Gautam Gambhir, BJPOnline presenceCriminal casesPositions HeldPerformance in ParliamentMPLAD funds utilisationCandidates contesting in 2024Key candidates in the newsIssues of the constituencyAlso read About the constituency East Delhi Lok Sabha Constituency is one of the seven parliamentary constituencies in the Indian National Capital Territory of Delhi. Constituted in 1966, it is one of the most densely populated constituencies with a population of around 25 lakh. It comprises the following areas: Gandhi Nagar, Shahdara, Krishna Nagar, Laxmi Nagar Vishwas Nagar, Patparganj, Janpura, Trilokpuri (SC), Kondli (SC) and Okhla.  As of…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: South Delhi — Know your constituency and candidates

Ramvir Singh Bidhuri of the BJP is contesting the South Delhi seat in place of sitting MP Ramesh Bidhuri. Who is he up against?

About the constituency Established in 1966, South Delhi Constituency is Delhi’s fourth largest constituency in terms of number of voters and is made up of Bijwasan, Palam, Mehrauli, Chhatarpur, Deoli (SC), Ambedkar Nagar (SC), Sangam Vihar, Kalkaji, Tughlakabad and Badarpur. The villages are largely dominated by the Gujjar community. It’s an upmarket area and is often referred to as the financial capital of the state. As of January 2024, the constituency had around 22.21 lakh voters, including roughly 12.34 lakh men and 9.86 lakh women, many of whom live in the urban villages or unauthorised colonies. This constituency had BJP’s…