Ahead of the budget, tell the BBMP where and how to spend your money

Would you like to ask the government to earmark funds to sort out specific civic issues in your neighbourhood? This is your chance to let them know.

Most of our neighbourhoods in Bengaluru are beset with infrastructure issues; issues that need to be fixed to ensure a better quality of life for us. In a city that is as cosmopolitan as ours, the issues are also not the same across the city; they differ from one neighbourhood to the next.

Every year, our local government prepares an annual budget for the city, in which, budgets are allocated to all the neighbourhoods (wards). Also, a decision is taken on which issues would be taken up for work in each neighbourhood. So far, it was difficult, maybe even impossible for citizens like us to participate in this process and express our needs for our neighbourhood in a structured manner.

Which is why Janaagraha Centre for Citizenship and Democracy has launched MyCityMyBudget. This is a campaign aimed at giving citizens a unique opportunity to participate in the city’s budgeting process. It provides them with a channel through which they can tell the local government what they want for their respective neighbourhoods.

A screengrab from the site.

Do you want that broken pavement in front of your house fixed? Do you want more trees in your street? Is the crime level in your area too high? Do you face erratic power supply? Not enough buses servicing your area? Whatever be the civic issue, this campaign allows you to voice it.

MyCitymyBudget is an endeavour to gather inputs from various citizens and groups across the city and submit them to the local Government. The Government would be requested to consider these inputs while preparing the budget.

To join the campaign, visit MyCitymyBudget and fill up this simple Budget Input Form to let the local government know what issues you want fixed in your neighbourhood. There is no limit to the number of forms you can fill up; which means you can highlight any number of issues in your locality.

Related Articles

KERC directs BESCOM to tie up loose wires
BBMP’s 6728 crore budget: Yet another unrealistic financial plan for the city?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Elections 2024: What Chennai residents and civic groups want their MPs to address

Civic organisations in Chennai have voiced several concerns and put forward demands for clean air, better mobility, housing and fisher welfare.

With the 2024 Lok Sabha elections around the corner, the candidates contesting in the polls are busy campaigning to garner votes. Every one of them makes their poll promises during these campaigns, but very few of these are fulfilled in reality. Voters in the city want pending issues to be addressed. Meanwhile, various civic groups in the city have a plethora of demands that they are putting forward for the political parties and their candidates representing the different constituencies in Chennai. Here are a few such demands that the civic groups in Chennai would like to highlight for the progress…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Chennai North — Know your constituency and candidates

North Chennai constituency has ports and polluting industries that endanger the ecology and have always been in conflict with the residents here.

Chennai North is a Lok Sabha constituency composed of the assembly segments including Royapuram, Kolathur, T.V.K.Nagar, Perambur, Thiruvottiyur and Dr Radhakrishnan Nagar. This constituency elected its first Member of Parliament in 1957. The incumbent MP is Dr. Kalanidhi Veeraswamy. Chennai North is not only home to many red-category industries that stretch from North Chennai through Manali to Ennore but also hosts the city’s largest garbage dump — Kodungaiyur dump yard. The constituency has two coal-fired power plants and their ash dumps, coal stacking yards, a 10.5 million tonnes/year petroleum refinery, dozens of petrochemical industries, fertiliser plants, three large ports and…