Info for voters of Gandhi Nagar – MLA, Candidates, Voting and more

If you are one among the lakhs of voters of Gandhi Nagar, this is what you need to know!

Background information:

Incumbent MLA: Dinesh Gundu Rao

List of candidates, 2018:

Dinesh Gundu Rao
Constituency: Gandhinagar
Party: Indian National Congress
  • Family: Wife & 3 Dependents
  • Educational Qualification: B.E.
  • Profession: Member of Legislative Assembly
  • Online:
  • Number of Pending Criminal Cases: NIL
  • Net Worth (2018)
    • IT Returns: Self- 20.40 lakhs, Spouse- 35.69 lakhs, Dependents- 5.38 lakhs
    • Movable Assets: Self- 65.56 lakhs, Spouse- 50.55 lakhs
    • Immovable Assets: Self- 23 cr, Spouse- 3 cr
    • Liabilities: Self- 45.50 lakhs, Spouse- 70.14 lakhs
  • Net Worth (2013)
V. Narayanaswamy
Constituency: Gandhinagar
Party: Janata Dal Secular
  • Family: Wife & 1 Dependent
  • Educational Qualification: B.A.
  • Profession: Education & Social Work
  • Online: 
  • Number of Pending Criminal Cases: NIL
  • Net Worth (2018)
    • IT Returns: Self- 34.15 lakhs, Spouse- 1.82 lakhs
    • Movable Assets: Self- 2.63 cr, Spouse- 1.19 cr
    • Immovable Assets: Self- 21.93 cr, Spouse- 17.37 cr
    • Liabilities: Self- 1.73 cr, Spouse- 6 lakhs
A Elankovan
Constituency: Gandhinagar
Party: Aam Aadmi Party
  • Family: Wife & 2 Children
  • Educational Qualification: B.E. Mechanical
  • Profession: Engineering Consultant
  • Online: No details given
  • Number of Pending Criminal Cases: NIL
  • Net Worth (2018)
      • IT Returns: Self- 19k, Spouse- 910
      • Movable Assets: Self- 1 lakh, Spouse- 11 lakhs, Dependents- 4.10 lakhs
      • Immovable Assets: NIL
      • Liabilities: NIL
AR Sapthagiri Gowda
Constituency: Gandhinagar
Party: Bharatiya Janata Party
  • Family: Wife & 1 Child
  • Educational Qualification: Post Graduate Diploma in Law
  • Profession: Entrepreneur and Consultant
  • Online:
    • Twitter: @ar_gowda
  • Number of Pending Criminal Cases: NIL
  • Net Worth (2018)
    • IT Returns: Self- 10.03 lakhs, Spouse- 1.33 lakhs
    • Movable Assets: Self- 4.98 cr, Spouse- 49 lakhs, Child- 10.42 lakhs
    • Immovable Assets: Self- 10.07 cr, Spouse- 40 lakhs
    • Liabilities: NIL

Full List of Candidates:

[embeddoc url=”” width=”100%”  download=”all”]

Earlier Results

2013 candidates Party Votes Age Vote Share %
Dinesh Gundu Rao INC 54968 43 49.6%
P C Mohan BJP 32361 49 29.2%
V. Nagaraj BSRCP 10875 52 9.81%
Shubhash Bharani JS(S) 7418 64 6.69%
V A Pugazhendi ADMK 3197 54 2.88%


2008 candidates Party Votes Age Vote Share%
Dinesh Gundu Rao INC 41188 38 41.01%
P.C Mohan BJP 34242 45 34.09%
V. Nagaraj IND 13053 47 13%
S. Shivappa JD(S) 4029 47 4.01%
R.Murugan BSP 3121 42 3.11%

Citizen Demands:

About the Constituency:

[flexiblemap src=“” width=“100%” height=“400px” ]

Gandhinagar constituency is located in central Bangalore. It comprises Dattatreya Temple, Okalipuram, Gandhinagar, Subhash Nagar, Chikpete, Cottonpete and Binnypete wards.

As this area suffers from heavy traffic and pollution, many of of the central busy regions are extremely crowded. You can find the most choked zone being the hub, with railway, bus and metro stations. Gandhinagar ward suffers from traffic problems and pollution. New constructions of multi-storeyed buildings only add to the confusion.

The constituency has become more chaotic with the construction of the Okulipuram 8-lane road, which is still ongoing, creating immense disturbances here. Many people complain that the work is proceeding too slowly.

Residents are heavily in favour of the Congress candidate, mainly because of his accessibility to voters. He has never been known to turn away any of the people who want to meet him here, as the grassroot campaigning is very strong. Residents have put their trust behind their leader, even though many complain that an underpass connecting Okalipuram with Malleswaram is proceeding too slowly.

  • The total number of voters in 2008:1,00,439. In 2013, i
  • The total number of voters in 2013:1,10,878.
  • The total number of registered voters here at present: 2,23,224.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: North East Delhi — Know your constituency and candidates

In the high profile contest for North East Delhi, BJP's star MP Manoj Tiwari takes on the firebrand Kanhaiya Kumar (INC). Who are the others?

Table of contentsAbout the constituencyAt a glanceMap of the constituencyFind your polling boothPast election resultsIncumbent MP : Manoj Kumar TiwariOnline presenceCriminal casesPositions heldAssets and LiabilitiesPerformance in ParliamentMPLAD funds utilisationCandidates contesting in 2024Key candidates in the newsIssues of the constituencyAlso read About the constituency Well known for its high migrant labour population from the states of Haryana, Uttar Pradesh and Bihar, North East Delhi constituency comprises the following areas: Burari, Timarpur, Karawal Nagar, Ghonda, Babarpur, Gokalpur (SC), Seemapuri (SC), Seelampur, Rohtas Nagar and Mustafabad. This constituency has the highest average population density of 36,155 persons per square km — the highest…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: Chandni Chowk — Know your constituency and candidates

Delhi-based businessman, Praveen Khandelwal of the BJP takes on Congress' Jai Prakash Agarwal. Know more about them and other contenders.

Table of contentsAbout the constituencyMap of the Constituency Find your polling boothIncumbent MP: Harsh Vardhan, BJPOnline PresenceCriminal CasesPositions HeldPerformance in ParliamentMPLAD fundsCandidates contesting in 2024Key Candidates in the newsIssues of the constituencyAlso read About the constituency  Chandni Chowk Lok Sabha constituency is one of the seven Lok Sabha constituencies in the Indian National Capital Territory of Delhi. This constituency came into existence in 1956. It is the smallest constituency of Lok Sabha in terms of area. Since the delimitation of parliamentary constituencies in 2008, it is made up of ten assembly constituencies, which are Adarsh Nagar, Shalimar Bagh, Shakur Basti, Tri…