Info for voters of BTM Constituency – MLA, Candidates, Voting and more

If you are one among the lakhs of voters of BTM, this is what you need to know!

Background information

Incumbent MLA: Ramalinga Reddy

List of candidates, 2018

Ramalinga Reddy

Party: Indian National Congress

  • Family: Wife & 3 Dependents
  • Educational Qualification: B. Sc.
  • Profession: MLA Home Minister
  • Number of Pending Criminal Cases: NIL
  • Net Worth (2018)
    • IT Returns: Self- 83 lakhs, Spouse- 17 lakhs, Dependent- 2.15 lakhs
    • Movable Assets: Self-17.41 cr, Spouse- 5.43 cr, Dependent- 34.11 lakhs
    • Immovable Assets: Self- 37.21 cr, Spouse- 6.20 lakhs
    • Liabilities: Self- 15.74 cr, Spouse- 2.36 cr, Dependent- 22.57 lakhs
  • Additional info: Twitter @incbtmlayout

Lallesh Reddy

Party: Bharatiya Janata Party

  • Family: Wife & 2 Children
  • Educational Qualification: B. Sc. & MBA
  • Profession: Real Estate
  • Online: No details given
  • Number of Pending Criminal Cases: NIL
  • Net Worth (2018)
    • IT Returns: Self- 2.9 lakhs, Spouse- 11.81 lakhs
    • Movable Assets: Self- 17.45 cr, Spouse- 16.55 cr
    • Immovable Assets: 27.66 cr
    • Liabilities: 3.54 cr

D.R. Syed Asad Abbas

Party: Aam Aadmi Party


  • Educational Qualification: MS Communication
  • Profession: Anchor, Motivational Speaker, Event Management
  • Online: 
  • Number of Pending Criminal Cases: NIL
  • Net Worth (2018)
    • IT Returns: Self- 5.75 lakhs
    • Movable Assets: Self- 9.31 lakhs
    • Immovable Assets: NIL
    • Liabilities: NIL

K. Devadas

Party: Janata Dal (Secular)

  • Family: Wife & 3 Children
  • Educational Qualification: 8th STD
  • Profession: Corporator, Private Business
  • Online:
  • Number of Pending Criminal Cases: 4 (Criminal intimidation, Waging war against an Asiatic Power in alliance with the Government of India, false statement made in declaration which is by law receivable as evidence, theft)
  • Net Worth (2018)
    • IT Returns: Self- 78.6 lakhs, Spouse- 12.2 k, Child- 6.86 lakhs
    • Movable Assets: Self- 8.29 cr, Spouse- 33.47 lakhs, Child- 26.60 lakhs
    • Immovable Assets: Self- 14.8 cr, Spouse- 8.5 cr
    • Liabilities: NIL

Full List of Candidates:

[embeddoc url=”” width=”100%”  download=”all”]

Previous Results:

2013 candidate




Vote Share %

Ramalinga Reddy










J. Ramesh Reddy





Ravi Krishna Reddy











2008 candidate




Vote Shre %

Ramalinga Reddy





G.Prasad Reddy










Citizen Demands:

About the Constituency:

[flexiblemap src=”” width=”100%” height=”400px” ]


BTM Layout is considered to be the entry point of the IT hub. Its eight BBMP wards are  BTM Layout, Madivala, Adugodi, Ejipura, Koramangala, Lakkasandra, Sudduguntepalya and Jakkasandra.

The acronym ‘BTM’ stands for Bannerghatta, Tavarakere and Madiwala. In 2008, this constituency was carved out of Uttarahalli. It is a blend of residential and commercial properties and is well-known for restaurants and shopping malls. Being near the Outer Ring Road, Bannerghatta Road, JP Nagar and Jayanagar, BTM is a preferred residential destination, with Madiwala Lake being its sole lung space. Real estate in this area is a booming industry. Most of its voters are from the land-owning Reddy community.

In 2016, local volunteers and residents cooperated strongly with a team using low cost local sensors to assess pollution levels. In 2012, volunteers protested strongly against construction debris dumped in the open ground. Hence, the government spent Rs 25-30 lakh to rebuild the area, restoring streetlights, toilets and even a security guard.

  • The total number of voters in 2008: 1,01,184
  • The total number of voters in 2013:1,10,589.
  • The total number of registered voters currently: 2,63,853.


  1. Ats says:

    Would be good if the candidate I do also includes data from the past affidavits as well as past candidate manifestos if it exista. Wondering how someone with an IT return in lakhs for several years is able to declare movable assets that has grown in 10s of crores, over 20 times their income. Immovable assets including agricultural lands have grown by large amounts even in a state that has strict land ceiling regulations that prevent anyone with such income levels from buying farm lands. Indicates all candidates find loop holes to exploit that they never fix and keep increasing taxes for salaried classes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

BBMP’s Kere Mitra: Bridging gaps or missing the point?

This initiative looks to foster a motivated group of lake volunteers in Bengaluru. But will it accomplish the ultimate goal of lake rejuvenation?

In 2023, the BBMP launched Kere Mitra (lake friend) to ensure transparency in lake management. It was introduced to bridge the gap between citizens and the authorities in the daily maintenance of lakes, which fall under BBMP's custody. The Kere Mitras or lake volunteers are selected for a period of three months. While some were satisfied with the programme, others expressed their reservations about the selection process and lack of training. However, is the initiative achieving its intended goals? The BBMP seems satisfied with the applications. The next phase of Kere Mitra will not be open to new applicants. "In…

Similar Story

Bengaluru Citizen Clinic: Decoding property documentation

Property transaction can be confusing. Join us as for an online session where an expert will discuss the ABCs of property documentation.

Various documents are required at different stages to carry out property transactions in Bengaluru. If you are not adequately prepared, the complexity of regulations, rules, and procedures can be overwhelming and potentially lead to complications. Often, we don’t fully understand these requirements until we are directly involved in such a situation. Also, if we don’t ask the right questions at the appropriate times, we are more likely to make errors. In this citizen clinic, organised by Citizen Matters, an expert on property law will address questions from the public on the kinds of guide on land types, authorities, etc and…