Ward information page: 154 – Basavanagudi

How much did BBMP spend on Basavanagudi ward? What are the issues troubling the ward? How much money is pending to be paid to the contractors?

154 – Basavanagudi


A few lakhs have been spent in this ward for “Purchase of Land and Construction of Houses, Hostels, Ambedkar Bhavan (Incl Prev yr Bal. Bills)” – a pattern that is repeated in many wards including Koramangala. Basavanagudi happens to be the ward of Katte Satyanarayana, the ex-mayor of BBMP. The population in the ward seems to have bulged over four years, with population of 2011 census showing only 32,640 people in the ward, while voter list for 2015 BBMP elections says there are 39,184 voters in 1.2 sq kms! This means the population is still higher.

Here’s more information on the ward.

MLA (2013): Ravi Subramanya L A (BJP), Basavanagudi
MP (2014): Ananth Kumar (BJP), Bangalore South

BBMP 2010

Corporator: B.S. Sathyanarayana (BJP)
#60/54, 2nd cross, Javarayya Garden, Tyagarajanagar, Banagalore. Ph: 9341220836
Reservation: G

Winner’s percentage: 20
Winner’s margin: 3959
Total votes polled: 15964
Total voters: 48418

BBMP 2015

Total voters: 39184
Male: 19736
Female: 19445
Others: 3

Reserved: General

Contesting Candidates

BJP: BS Satyanarayana (Katte)
INC: GR Murali
JDS: Adhisesha
Loksatta: Phanisai Bharadwaj
SUCI: H R Chandrashekhar
Independent:D C Veerendra, N Hanumegowda


  • Population (2011): 32640
  • Households: 8624
  • Area: 1.2 sq km

Civic Amenities/Infrastructure

  • Road length: 676 km
  • Lakes: 0, Total area: 0 sq km
  • Parks: 6, Total area: 8.2 sq km
  • Playgrounds: 3, Total area: 1.3 sq km

Active citizen groups/RWAs

If you represent any RWA from this area, please click here and fill your info. It will be added to this space after verification.


More information on candidates

Phanisai Bharadwaj, Loksatta

No other candidates have filled the information collection form so far. If you know anyone contesting, do ask them to fill the Candidate Information Form as soon as possible.

How was the money spent? Tenders, job codes, bills:

  • Click on the sections corresponding to complaints, tenders and bills, to get a feel of what are the problems, what is being addressed, how much money is being spent, and is it really happening on ground.
  • Scroll using your arrow keys to see the details within the sections.

Click here to view the raw data.

What’s bothering the residents? Complaints represented in a wordcloud:

Data Courtesy

BBMP, Janaagraha, BBMP Restructuring Committee website

Disclaimer: This data is an extract; it is not complete, and not verified independently. It may not represent the entire tenure of BBMP council 2010-15.

Related Articles

Ward information page: 177 – JP Nagar

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: North East Delhi — Know your constituency and candidates

In the high profile contest for North East Delhi, BJP's star MP Manoj Tiwari takes on the firebrand Kanhaiya Kumar (INC). Who are the others?

Table of contentsAbout the constituencyAt a glanceMap of the constituencyFind your polling boothPast election resultsIncumbent MP : Manoj Kumar TiwariOnline presenceCriminal casesPositions heldAssets and LiabilitiesPerformance in ParliamentMPLAD funds utilisationCandidates contesting in 2024Key candidates in the newsIssues of the constituencyAlso read About the constituency Well known for its high migrant labour population from the states of Haryana, Uttar Pradesh and Bihar, North East Delhi constituency comprises the following areas: Burari, Timarpur, Karawal Nagar, Ghonda, Babarpur, Gokalpur (SC), Seemapuri (SC), Seelampur, Rohtas Nagar and Mustafabad. This constituency has the highest average population density of 36,155 persons per square km — the highest…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: Chandni Chowk — Know your constituency and candidates

Delhi-based businessman, Praveen Khandelwal of the BJP takes on Congress' Jai Prakash Agarwal. Know more about them and other contenders.

Table of contentsAbout the constituencyMap of the Constituency Find your polling boothIncumbent MP: Harsh Vardhan, BJPOnline PresenceCriminal CasesPositions HeldPerformance in ParliamentMPLAD fundsCandidates contesting in 2024Key Candidates in the newsIssues of the constituencyAlso read About the constituency  Chandni Chowk Lok Sabha constituency is one of the seven Lok Sabha constituencies in the Indian National Capital Territory of Delhi. This constituency came into existence in 1956. It is the smallest constituency of Lok Sabha in terms of area. Since the delimitation of parliamentary constituencies in 2008, it is made up of ten assembly constituencies, which are Adarsh Nagar, Shalimar Bagh, Shakur Basti, Tri…