All you need to know about Ward 151 – Koramangala

If you are a voter of Koramangala ward, here is all that you need to know about your ward: Who is contesting, what are the problems, what has BBMP done about it in the last five years.

151 – Koramangala


Curiously, pothole-filling ddrive in this ward has consumed lakhs of rupees in this ward before 2013 elections. The roads continue to be potholed and asphalted after almost two years. Here is more information on Koramangala ward.

MLA (2013): Ramalinga Reddy (INC), B.T.M. Layout
MP (2014): Ananth Kumar (BJP), Bangalore South

BBMP 2010

Corporator: B.N. Kokila (INC)
#30, 7th C main road, 16th main road, 4th B Block, Koramangala, Bangalore-34. Ph: 9740214741
Reservation: BC-A

Winner’s percentage: 21
Winner’s margin: 1068
Total votes polled: 12691
Total voters: 30995

BBMP 2015

Total voters: 32852
Male: 16813
Female: 16038
Others: 1

Reserved: OBC-B

Contesting Candidates

BJP: HM Govindaraju
INC: M Chandrappa
Gopalakrishna Reddy


  • Population (2011): 38316
  • Households: 9719
  • Area: 3.7 sq km

Civic Amenities/Infrastructure

  • Road length: 948 km
  • Lakes: Mesthripalya, Total area: 3.9 sq km
  • Parks: 24, Total area: 10.6 sq km
  • Playgrounds: 2, Total area: 2.5 sq km

Active citizen groups/RWAs


If you represent any RWA from this area, please click here and fill your info. It will be added to this space after verification.

More information on candidates

No candidates have filled the information collection form so far. If you know anyone contesting, do ask them to fill the Candidate Information Form as soon as possible.

Candidate affidavits 

BJP: HM Govindaraju – Click here
INC: M Chandrappa – Click here

How was the money spent? Tenders, job codes, bills:

  • Click on the sections corresponding to complaints, tenders and bills, to get a feel of what are the problems, what is being addressed, how much money is being spent, and is it really happening on ground.
  • Scroll using your arrow keys to see the details within the sections.

Click here to view the raw data.

What’s bothering the residents? Complaints represented in a wordcloud:


Data Courtesy

BBMP, Janaagraha, BBMP Restructuring Committee website

Disclaimer: This data is an extract; it is not complete, and not verified independently. It is not from the entire tenure of BBMP council 2010-15.

Related Articles

Koramangala 3rd Block a death trap after Sarjapur Road was made one-way
Ward information page: Ward 174 – HSR Layout
All you need to know about Ward 150 – Bellandur
‘Cash for coverage’ comes to BBMP elections too
BBMP Elections 2015: Special coverage by Citizen Matters

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Push government to implement all welfare measures in Street Vendors Act : Lekha Adavi

Lekha Adavi, a member of AICTU, says that without BBMP elections, there are no corporators to address the issues of street vendors.

(In part 1 of the interview series, Lekha Adavi, member of the All India Centre of Trade Unions (AICTU), spoke about the effects of climate change on Bengaluru’s street vendors. In part 2, she highlights how The Street Vendors Act (Protection of Livelihood and Regulation of street vending) 2014 falls short in its implementation) Excerpts: How do you engage with local authorities or municipal agencies to raise awareness of the challenges faced by street vendors during temperature surges? What responses or support do they provide? Lekha: Well, they don't respond to any of our demands. In Bengaluru, the BBMP elections…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: North East Delhi — Know your constituency and candidates

In the high profile contest for North East Delhi, BJP's star MP Manoj Tiwari takes on the firebrand Kanhaiya Kumar (INC). Who are the others?

Table of contentsAbout the constituencyAt a glanceMap of the constituencyFind your polling boothPast election resultsIncumbent MP : Manoj Kumar TiwariOnline presenceCriminal casesPositions heldAssets and LiabilitiesPerformance in ParliamentMPLAD funds utilisationCandidates contesting in 2024Key candidates in the newsIssues of the constituencyAlso read About the constituency Well known for its high migrant labour population from the states of Haryana, Uttar Pradesh and Bihar, North East Delhi constituency comprises the following areas: Burari, Timarpur, Karawal Nagar, Ghonda, Babarpur, Gokalpur (SC), Seemapuri (SC), Seelampur, Rohtas Nagar and Mustafabad. This constituency has the highest average population density of 36,155 persons per square km — the highest…