Ward information page: Ward 149 – Varthur

Here's all you need to know about ward - 149, Varthur, before BBMP elections.

149 – Varthur

Varthur, one of the wards in Mahadevapura zone, is facing the growth pang many other areas in the city too are facing. However, the presence of many IT/ITES companies and large number of employees in the area has made the ward gain more importance in terms of lack of infrastructure such as good roads and water. Here is more about the ward.

MLA (2013): Arvind Limbavali (BJP), Mahadevapura
MP (2014): P C Mohan (BJP), Bangalore Central

BBMP 2010:

Corporator: S. UdayKumar (INC), Reservation:G
#480 (16), Munnekolala, Bangalore East, Bangalore-36


Winner’s percentage: 34.3
Winner’s margin:2900
Total votes: 20936
Total voters: 33994

BBMP 2015:

Total voters: 45069
Male: 24068
Female: 20990
Others: 11

Reserved: SC (Women)

BJP: Pushpa Manjunath
INC: Nisha S Vasu
JDS: Chamundeshwari Yellappa
BSP: Chandrakala

Candidate debate


Population (2011): 54625
Voters: 43072
Households: 14256
Area: 28.3sq km

Civic Amenities/Infrastructure

Road length: 772 km
Lakes: Chikkabellandur,Gunjuru Moji,Gunjuru Karmelaram,Gunjuru Palya,Panathur Kere – 38,Panathur Kere – 48,Varthur, Total area:238 sq km
Parks: 2, Total area:0.5 sq km
Playground: 0, Total area:0 sq km

Active RWAs/ citizens’ groups:

Whitefield Rising, Bruhat Whitefield Residents Residential Community Association (BWRCA), Federation of Thubarahalli Apartment Owners Associations (FTAOA)


There is no data available currently with Citizen Matters, about the candidates contesting the BBMP Elections 2015.

If you do not find a particular candidate on this page, do ask them to fill the Candidate Information Form as soon as possible.

Tenders, Work orders and other ward related data

  • Click on the sections corresponding to complaints, tenders and bills, to get a feel of what are the problems, what is being addressed, how much money is being spent, and is it really happening on ground.
  • Scroll using your arrow keys to see the details within the sections.

What’s bothering the residents? Complaints represented in a wordcloud

Data Courtesy

BBMP, Janaagraha, BBMP Restructuring Committee website

Disclaimer: This data is an extract; it is not complete, and not verified independently. It is not from the entire tenure of BBMP council 2010-15.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Lok Sabha 2024: Party hopping candidates, perplexed voters and a city at risk

Often criticised for their apathy during elections, Mumbaikars face politically unstable and unusual alliances to choose from this elections.

Finally, it is that time again, after five years. Voting for the 18th Lok Sabha is on May 20th for Mumbai and people are watching the high-pitched campaigns by candidates. And many voters β€” young and old β€” are perplexed at political developments over the past few months and years.  It is hard to tell when it started, or that it was always there. At one time, defecting to another political party was looked down upon. Political leaders who party-hopped were quizzed by the media, questioned by the people at public meetings and had to work doubly hard to convince…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha 2024: Did the government deliver on promises of jobs and employment?

As Mumbai, Thane, Palghar and Kalyan get ready to vote on May 20th, a look at the government's performance on promises of jobs and employment.

In the 4th phase of the Lok Sabha Elections, among other regions in India, six constituencies of Mumbai (city and suburban), Thane, Kalyan and Palghar will vote on May 20th. As the campaign peaks and promises fly from every leader and candidate, voters are getting ready to cast their precious vote. Making an informed choice, is the first step towards strengthening democracy and ensuring sustainable and equitable life for all. Mumbai Votes, a not-for-profit, independent info-bank, conducts research on election manifestos, party promises, their implementation over the years and sector wise performance of different political parties. In the run up…