Info for voters of Anekal Constituency – MLA, Candidates, Voting and more

If you are one among the lakhs of voters of Anekal, this is what you need to know!

Background information

Incumbent MLA: B Shivanna

We can’t promise immediate change just because of the charter. But we will take up their suggestions and work on it. But you see, till people realise that it is also their work and they have to be a part of it, any amount of development we try to bring about will not work. For instance, if the stone that covers the drain in front of your house is broken, then you call BBMP. But no one thinks that this is my house, my front yard, my work and I should rectify it. If everybody does their own work then you won’t need any BBMP or MLA. People must also change themselves, their mentality. We will work for them, no doubt. But if they too could start owning responsibility for their work then the problems will come down drastically is what I mean.

    • On November 12, 2016: When former sub inspector, T Srinivas, tried to book one of the MLAs associates for abetment to suicide, he was transferred without reason, he alleged.   

    • On November 13, 2016: During the violence that erupted after the cauvery water row, Anekal sub inspector took part in the riots by pelting stone. The MLA had thus denied allegations of transferring him due to personal interests.

    • On March 15, 2017: Bommasandra Municipal Town member, Srinivas Prasad, was allegedly murdered by B Shivanna fearing he might contest in 2018. There was also tension between the two politicians as the MLA chose an SC woman become the Urban Zilla Panchayat President.

    • Income Tax Raid in his house.
  • Related info:

List of candidates, 2018:

 B Shivanna, INC
  • Education: Post Graduate
    M.Sc-Bangalore University, 1992,LLB-Islamia Law College, Bangalore-1995
  • Profession: Social Service
  • Net worth:
    • Assets: 21 Crore+
 A. Narayanaswamy, BJP
  • Education: BA
  • Profession: Social Worker + Real Estate
  • Online: @ANSBJP (Anekal Narayanaswamy)
  • Won the 2008 Assembly elections from Anekal by a large margin.
  • Elected 4 times, was Minister, Social Welfare and Prisons
  • Net worth:
    • Assets: 7 Crore+

Full List of Candidates

[embeddoc url=”” width=”100%”  download=”all”]

Previous Results

2013 Candidate Sex Party Age Vote_Share_Percentage
1 SHIVANNA B. M INC 46 56.56


2008 Candidate Sex Party Age Vote_Share_Percentage
2 B GOPAL M INC 55 37.74
3 K M MUNIYAPPA M JD(S) 47 13.26

Citizen Demands:

About the Constituency:

Anekal includes  Anekal Town, Sarjapura, Attibele, Hebbagodi, Bommasandra, and some panchayats in the taluk. While the constituency is close to Electronics City (which now functions as an independent Township Authority), it does not have efficient governance seen there. The proximity has seen a large number of industries and small scale units. To cater to the housing needs of the workers, a hotchpotch of apartments, gated communities and paying guest accommodations have overwhelmed the erstwhile rural area. These peri urban areas has no infrastructure like sewerage, water pipelines, proper garbage collection and processing etc.

A significant population of dalits and poor struggle against economic and social oppression


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: North East Delhi — Know your constituency and candidates

In the high profile contest for North East Delhi, BJP's star MP Manoj Tiwari takes on the firebrand Kanhaiya Kumar (INC). Who are the others?

Table of contentsAbout the constituencyAt a glanceMap of the constituencyFind your polling boothPast election resultsIncumbent MP : Manoj Kumar TiwariOnline presenceCriminal casesPositions heldAssets and LiabilitiesPerformance in ParliamentMPLAD funds utilisationCandidates contesting in 2024Key candidates in the newsIssues of the constituencyAlso read About the constituency Well known for its high migrant labour population from the states of Haryana, Uttar Pradesh and Bihar, North East Delhi constituency comprises the following areas: Burari, Timarpur, Karawal Nagar, Ghonda, Babarpur, Gokalpur (SC), Seemapuri (SC), Seelampur, Rohtas Nagar and Mustafabad. This constituency has the highest average population density of 36,155 persons per square km — the highest…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: Chandni Chowk — Know your constituency and candidates

Delhi-based businessman, Praveen Khandelwal of the BJP takes on Congress' Jai Prakash Agarwal. Know more about them and other contenders.

Table of contentsAbout the constituencyMap of the Constituency Find your polling boothIncumbent MP: Harsh Vardhan, BJPOnline PresenceCriminal CasesPositions HeldPerformance in ParliamentMPLAD fundsCandidates contesting in 2024Key Candidates in the newsIssues of the constituencyAlso read About the constituency  Chandni Chowk Lok Sabha constituency is one of the seven Lok Sabha constituencies in the Indian National Capital Territory of Delhi. This constituency came into existence in 1956. It is the smallest constituency of Lok Sabha in terms of area. Since the delimitation of parliamentary constituencies in 2008, it is made up of ten assembly constituencies, which are Adarsh Nagar, Shalimar Bagh, Shakur Basti, Tri…