Don’t be tempted to take a selfie inside the polling booth!

It's a paid holiday - so don't miss voting. More tips and information on voting day for you!

Chief Election Officer for Karnataka, Anil Kumar Jha in a press conference in Bengaluru on Monday reiterated the model code of conduct and presented statistics relating to the number of polling stations, vehicles mobilised for poll purpose and polling personnel, among others. Jha said there would be a ban on public meetings and processions from 15 April evening onwards.

Setting up of temporary offices by party or candidate
Such offices cannot be opened by way of any encroachment either on public or private property/ in any religious places or campus of such religious places/ contiguous to any educational institution / hospital / within 200 meters of an existing polling station. Further, such offices can display only one party flag and banner with party symbol/photographs and the size of the banner used in such offices should not exceed 4.5 feet length and 3 feet breadth.

No bribing or impersonation of voters

According to the guidelines prescribed by the Election Commission of India, all parties and candidates shall scrupulously avoid all activities which are “corrupt practices” and offences under the election law. They are:

  • Bribing of voters in cash or kind
  • Intimidation of voters
  • Impersonation of voters (voting on behalf of others)
  • Canvassing within 100 meters of a polling station
  • Holding public meetings during the period of 48 hours before the commencement of the polls
  • Whenever possible, buses to the polling booths will be run by the administration officials
  • None of the candidates or parties can make transport arrangements
Some numbers
  • Number of polling stations: 54,261 (excluding 3 auxiliary)
  • Hypersensitive: 11,424
  • Sensitive: 14,968
  • Number of polling personnel: 2,95,016 (Men: 1,76,968  Women: 1,18,048)
  • Uniformed personnel (Armed police, Home Guards, CRPF): More than 60,000
  • Number of vehicles mobilised for poll purpose (not security): 20,200 (5,000 vehicles for sector/election officers)
  • Model polling booths set up by BBMP: 100 (5-10 in each constituency)
Paid Hoilday
Voting hours will be between 7 am and 6 pm on Thursday April 17th. Voters who are present at the polling booth at 6 pm, will be allowed to vote. According to Sec 135 B of the Representation of the People Act, people employed in any business, trade, industrial undertaking or any other establishment and entitled to vote in poll-bound states were entitled to paid holiday on the day of election. People who are campaigning or workers, if they are not voters, should leave the area near the polling booth on April 15th (6 pm onwards).
No survey or poll analysis
Any kind of poll-related survey/analysis, panel discussion which will in any way affect the decision of the voter or results, on electronic media will be banned 6 pm onwards on April 15th. Not following this guideline can attract a penalty of up to two years.
No ‘selfies’ inside booths

The Election Commission has issued a circular banning the use of mobile phones inside polling booths. None of the voters will be allowed to carry their mobile phones inside the polling booth. They will be required to handover their phones to the returning officer or polling officer at the booth. Jha added, “Any selfies clicked inside the polling booths can attract imprisonment up to three months since it is a violation of the Representation of the People Act. Voters are however free to take selfies outside the polling booth.”

When asked about the first time voters in all the 28 constituencies in Bangalore, CEO-KA Jha said, “We cannot give you the exact number of first time voters, because even a 21-year-old can be a first time voter. But, the number of voters in the age group 18-19 years is 11,12,520.

On the number of voters with disabilities, he added, “We have no database for disabled voters.”

Related Articles

All set to vote on the 17th? Here’s some info for you!
Which Parliament Constituency does your ward fall in?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: North East Delhi — Know your constituency and candidates

In the high profile contest for North East Delhi, BJP's star MP Manoj Tiwari takes on the firebrand Kanhaiya Kumar (INC). Who are the others?

Table of contentsAbout the constituencyAt a glanceMap of the constituencyFind your polling boothPast election resultsIncumbent MP : Manoj Kumar TiwariOnline presenceCriminal casesPositions heldAssets and LiabilitiesPerformance in ParliamentMPLAD funds utilisationCandidates contesting in 2024Key candidates in the newsIssues of the constituencyAlso read About the constituency Well known for its high migrant labour population from the states of Haryana, Uttar Pradesh and Bihar, North East Delhi constituency comprises the following areas: Burari, Timarpur, Karawal Nagar, Ghonda, Babarpur, Gokalpur (SC), Seemapuri (SC), Seelampur, Rohtas Nagar and Mustafabad. This constituency has the highest average population density of 36,155 persons per square km — the highest…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: Chandni Chowk — Know your constituency and candidates

Delhi-based businessman, Praveen Khandelwal of the BJP takes on Congress' Jai Prakash Agarwal. Know more about them and other contenders.

Table of contentsAbout the constituencyMap of the Constituency Find your polling boothIncumbent MP: Harsh Vardhan, BJPOnline PresenceCriminal CasesPositions HeldPerformance in ParliamentMPLAD fundsCandidates contesting in 2024Key Candidates in the newsIssues of the constituencyAlso read About the constituency  Chandni Chowk Lok Sabha constituency is one of the seven Lok Sabha constituencies in the Indian National Capital Territory of Delhi. This constituency came into existence in 1956. It is the smallest constituency of Lok Sabha in terms of area. Since the delimitation of parliamentary constituencies in 2008, it is made up of ten assembly constituencies, which are Adarsh Nagar, Shalimar Bagh, Shakur Basti, Tri…