How to apply for a BESCOM connection

Looking to move into a new house in Bengaluru? Then you need to apply for an electricity connection with BESCOM.

Looking to move into a new house in Bengaluru? Then you need to apply for an electricity connection with BESCOM. This guide will take you through the steps that you need to follow to get a domestic LT connection (applicable for less than 25 KW or less than 500 square metres of built-up area).

BESCOM or the Bangalore Electricity Supply Company is in charge of distribution of power to the districts of Bangalore Urban/Rural, Kolar, Tumkur, Ramanagar, Chikkaballapura, Chitradurga and Davanagere. So if you have moved into a new house in any of these areas or you are shifting house, you will need to apply for a domestic electricity connection with BESCOM.

Process to apply for a new connection

  1. Visit the BESCOM sub-divisional office in your area and obtain an application form. This is also called an A Form.

  2. Fill in the application form and register it along with the following documents along with it. The registration fee that you need to pay for the same is Rs. 50 per installation.

    1. Proof of ownership or occupation of premises (latest khata, sale deed, property tax paid, sanction plan, architectl plan as per actual duly signed by registered civil engineer and/or route sketch) 

    2. House tax receipt or commercial certificate

    3. Personal ID proof (voters ID, PAN card, email ID , driving license, passport, Aadhar card)

    4. Passport size photo 

    5. Mobile Number
    6. Power Supply Agreement – The format for the Power Supply Agreement is available at the BESCOM office or can be downloaded from here. This needs to be printed on Rs 200 Stamp paper. 

  3. You will be given a registration number which you can use to track the status of your connection. This also duly verifies the documents that you have submitted.

  4. A Field Officer will inspect your house or the site for which you have sought a connection.

  5. Once the documents are verified, the Field Office will prepare an estimate and and you need to submit the wiring diagram of the building, and test report cum completion of wiring, duly signed by a government approved Licensed Electrical Contractor and you.

  6. Once the power has been sanctioned, you will be asked to pay a couple of deposits and infrastructure charges.

    1. Meter Security Deposit based on capacity of the meter

    2. Initial Security Deposit  based on load

    3. Service Line Charges

    4. Service Connection Charges

  7. The sanction is valid for 1 month, so you have to ensure that you make the payment of the deposits within 1 month of obtaining the sanction.

  8. The total amount should be paid at the sub-divisional BESCOM office; then, you can submit the completion report along with the wiring diagram and Power Supply Agreement

  9. The sub-divisional office will then issue a work order, following which an Area Engineer will install your meter, obtain a revenue record (RR number) and service the connection.

How long does it take to get a new connection?

In its Citizen Charter, BESCOM has stated that new installations will be serviced within 30 days of receiving the application, provided that all details furnished provided by the applicant are in order. In addition, the feasibility report for arranging power supply and issuing power sanction letter must be done within 7 days of receiving the application.

Steps for transfer of installation or change in name

If you are moving into a place which already has a meter and you would like to change the name under which the connection has been given, you will need to submit a formal request letter to the area sub-divisional office, along with your RR number, name, address and telephone number and the following documents.

    1. Copy of Sale Agreement

    2. NOC from the builder, owner or society

    3. Sale deed and tax payment receipts

    4. Copy of last paid electricity bill

    5. Indemnity Bond

In the absence of a consent letter from the previous owner, you have to pay the security deposits once again to get the transfer of installation or change in name.

You can ask for a document referred to as the ‘Name Transfer Document’ at the BESCOM office: this includes the indemnity bond, form for change in name, NOC format and a file and costs Rs. 300 (Rs 100 for as installation and transfer fee and Rs 200 for the Stamp Paper).

As per the BESCOM Citizens Charter, transfer of installation/change in name will be done within 20 days.

Tariff for domestic connection

Applicable to areas coming under Bruhat Bangalore Mahanagara Palike (BBMP), Municipal Corporation and all Urban Local Bodies

Fixed charges

For the first KW

Rs 25 per KW

For every additional KW

Rs 35 per KW

Energy charges

0 to 30 units (Lifeline consumption)

Rs 2.50 per unit

31 to 100 units

Rs 3.70 per unit

101 to 200 units

Rs 4.85 per unit

Above 200 units

Rs 5.85 per unit

Useful links

  1. BESCOM website

  2. Citizens Handbook

  3. BESCOM tariff

  4. BESCOM online portal


Manoj Kumar, AEE, Koramangala Subdivision, BESCOM




Manoj Kumar, AEE, Koramangala Subdivision, BESCOM

Bescom –

I Paid a Bribe –

I Change My City –

Related Articles

BESCOM to introduce Photo Billing to out an end to errors in billing
How to change name in electricity bill
Bangalore’s electricity spend – how can we make it judicious?
Additional Security Deposit for BESCOM: Some questions answered


  1. M.R. GOPINATH says:

    Can someone please guide me as to how to go about reduction of BESCOM sanctioned load to my residence? What are the charges involved? Should I go through a contractor or can I do it directly with the department?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: South Delhi — Know your constituency and candidates

Ramvir Singh Bidhuri of the BJP is contesting the South Delhi seat in place of sitting MP Ramesh Bidhuri. Who is he up against?

About the constituency Established in 1966, South Delhi Constituency is Delhi’s fourth largest constituency in terms of number of voters and is made up of Bijwasan, Palam, Mehrauli, Chhatarpur, Deoli (SC), Ambedkar Nagar (SC), Sangam Vihar, Kalkaji, Tughlakabad and Badarpur. The villages are largely dominated by the Gujjar community. It’s an upmarket area and is often referred to as the financial capital of the state. As of January 2024, the constituency had around 22.21 lakh voters, including roughly 12.34 lakh men and 9.86 lakh women, many of whom live in the urban villages or unauthorised colonies. This constituency had BJP’s…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: New Delhi — Know your constituency and candidates

A snapshot of New Delhi constituency with candidate profiles and affidavits, key issues of the constituency, past elections and more.

New Delhi Lok Sabha constituency which is Delhi’s oldest constituency, comprises the following Vidhan Sabha segments: Karol Bagh, Patel Nagar, Moti Nagar, Delhi Cantonment, Rajinder Nagar, New Delhi, Kasturba Nagar, Malviya Nagar, RK Puram and Greater Kailash. This constituency houses several prestigious institutions like Parliament House, the Supreme Court, ministries and other central government offices, the official residences of the President, the Prime Minister, all union ministers, top civil, judicial and military officials and the diplomatic enclave, making it one of the most high-profile areas of Delhi.  Read more: Missing names and missed opportunities: A Chennai citizen’s experience of elections…