High Court to pronounce judgment on BBMP election on April 24th

BBMP election controversy has reached the final stage in the court of law. All eyes are set on the judgment that will be pronounced on Friday, April 24th.

Karnataka High Court will decide on the schedule of council elections for Bengaluru. Pic: Poornima Dasharathi

The Division Bench of the High Court of Karnataka which has completed the hearing of the State government’s appeal against the Single Bench order to conduct BBMP polls before May 30th, has posted the judgment to April 24th, 2015. The court also extended the interim stay refraining the State Election Commission (SEC) from continuing the election procedures till the verdict.

During the day-long hearing that took place on April 22nd, the division bench sought to know from the petitioners and the respondents if the six months outer limit to hold the election after dissolving the council is applicable to before the end of five year’s council term or even after the term ends.

While the Advocate General representing the government argued that the six months period to hold the election after dissolving the council could be even after the end of five years term of the council, counsels appearing for the State Election Commission argued that six months outer limit was applicable only before the end of term.

Senior counsel Sajjan Poovaiah who argued on a Public Interest Litigation (PIL) on behalf of Namma Bengaluru Foundation (NBF) on the same issue too stressed that the constitution gives the right to the citizens not to be deprived of the elected council after the end of the elected body’s term. “The five year election cycle can not be disrupted,” he stated, adding that it might set a precedent for other governments to use dissolution as a tool to postpone elections.

When the judges asked the government to submit the timeframe within which it would be ready for the election, Advocate General assured of holding the election within six months as per the constitutional provision, soon after the completion of BBMP restructuring, delimitation and reservation of wards.

The SEC counsel requested the court to allow them to conduct the election on time in accordance with the Single Bench order. The SEC has completed the election preparations, and only declaring the election schedule is pending. The counsel also revealed that the Commission had issued 15 notices to the government in last two years to supply reservation roster, but the government neither responded to any of the notices nor sent its representatives to participate in election-related meetings.

Judges see lack of genuine intent

Both the judges pointed out at the presence of an ulterior motive behind the government dissolving the BBMP council only when two days were left for the election term to end. “You dissolved the council two days before the term ends, purposefully so that you can get six months time to hold the next election. Why didn’t the government commence the process of restructuring, delimitation of wards and reservation well in advance? Can this provision of dissolution be made use for a situation like this? The Supreme Court has time and again directed to the Election Commission to complete election on time to avoid vested interests who try to prevent timely polls,” opined Justice Ram Mohan Reddy.

Advocate General defended the government’s decision and said that dissolution decision was taken based on Kataria committee report on BBMP irregularities. To this, Chief Justice D H Waghela asked why the government formed the committee when only a month was left for the BBMP council term to end hand why it did not form the committee to probe into irregularities a few months ago.  “It is a man made calamity and we see lack of bona fide intent on the part of the government,” the Chief Justice observed.

Related Articles

HC stays declaration of BBMP election temporarily
HC pushes for restoration and rejuvenation of Agara and Bellandur lakes
BBMP ward reservation list quashed, SC upholds HC order


  1. Raja Seevan says:

    Indian CST launches GPMS cloud mobile apps for every Indian citizen who want to download this android app just by clicking the link http://vigeye.org/ce.php from their mobile phone and install it. Then use it for updating their KYC documents or submit complaints along with photo, audio, video, files online from any for their location from their mobile phone…We request citizens to come forward and support the initiative.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Stalled projects, discrimination by Centre hurting Mumbai: Incumbent MP Arvind Sawant

Arvind Sawant is contesting for the third time from Mumbai South and is confident of winning the seat for Uddhav Thackeray's Sena.

Arvind Sawant, who has served two terms as the MP from Mumbai South, is raring to go as he prepares to fight for a third term. His opponents are a divided house and the official candidate is yet to be announced here. Leaders such as Rahul Narwekar, Mangal Prabhat Lodha, Yeshwant Jadhav are eyeing this seat. So is Milind Deora, who has already been nominated to the Rajya Sabha now and had previously lost to Sawant in the two Lok Sabha elections in 2014 and 2019.  Mumbai South is comprised of the assembly constituencies of Colaba, Mumbadevi, Byculla, Malabar Hill,…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha 2024: Know your MP – P C Mohan, Bangalore Central Constituency

With a long history in politics, the three-time MP, P C Mohan, is all set to contest from Bangalore Central constituency.

P. Chikkamuni Mohan or P C Mohan is a three-time Lok Sabha MP representing Bangalore Central constituency. The BJP MP has a long innings in politics. He was the MLA of Chickpet assembly constituency for two terms, from 1999 to 2008. He got elected as MP in the 15th (2009), 16th (2014) and 17th (2019) Lok Sabha elections from Bangalore Central. In 2019, Mohan got 6,02,853 votes (50.35%); while his rival Rizwan Arshad of Indian National Congress (INC) got 5,31,885 votes (44.43%). In 2014, Mohan got 51.85 % of the 10,74,602 votes cast in Bangalore Central constituency. He defeated his…