Have you scanned the draft voters’ list for your name?

Will you be voting in 2019? Here is how first-time voters and those who wish to change details or delete their names from the voters list can do so! Last date for applications is October 31, 2018.

The summary revision of electoral rolls is underway in Tamil Nadu with the publication of the draft electoral roll in September. Those who will have completed 18 years as on January 1, 2019 can enroll themselves in the voter list and those who wish to make any changes or deletions may also do so during the revision period. The final voter list is to be published on January 4, 2019.

If you are looking to add, change or delete yourself from the rolls, these are the steps to be followed. Just be quick, for the deadline is October 31st.

Addition of name to the electoral roll

Those who wish to add their names to the electoral roll as a first time voter or due to the shifting of residence from one constituency to another can do so online or by submitting Form-6 with the requisite supporting documents to their respective electoral registration officers (ERO).

Documents to be submitted

Proof of Date of Birth: Birth certificate issued by a municipal authority or district office of the Registrar of Births & Deaths or Baptism certificate/ Copy of the mark sheet of class 10/8/5, if it contains date of birth / Passport / PAN card / Driving License / Aadhar Card.

Proof of Residence: Bank / Kisan / Post Office Pass Book / Ration Card / Passport / Driving License / Income Tax Assessment Order / Rental agreement /  Water Bill / Telephone Bill / Electricity Bill / Gas Connection Bill for that address either in the name of the applicant or that of his / her immediate relation / any mail delivered through Indian Postal Department in the applicant’s name at the address of residence.

Overseas voters may also apply to be included in the voters list online or by submitting Form – 6A to the ERO concerned.

Deletion of name from electoral roll

Those who wish to delete their name/name of a kin from the voters’ list may do so online or by submitting Form-7 to the ERO. Deletion may be done for applicants who are deceased, declared missing, shifted residence from the constituency or if there has been a duplication in the voter list.

Correction of details in electoral roll

Errors in information on the rolls can be rectified online or by the submission of Form – 8 to the ERO concerned.

Changes can be made for incorrect entry of name, age, gender, photograph, date of birth, voter ID number, address, name of relative and type of relation.

If an applicant has shifted residence within the same constituency, an application must be made for the transposition of entry to the relevant part of the electoral roll. This may be done online or through the submission of  Form – 8A to the ERO concerned.

The status of various applications can be tracked online.

The last date for application for additions, deletions and changes in the electoral rolls is October 31, 2018. The claims will then be processed before the publication of the final list.


  1. Sowmyan says:

    I moved from Bangalore to Chennai. The online links given for the form 7 and 6A are for those who reside abroad.
    The system does not take a date of birth The Tamil keyboard is weird, and does not allow the letter ‘Sri’ as part of a natural name as in Sriraman, and converts to ‘Thiru’ in Tamil making it to Thiruraman!.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: New Delhi — Know your constituency and candidates

A snapshot of New Delhi constituency with candidate profiles and affidavits, key issues of the constituency, past elections and more.

New Delhi Lok Sabha constituency which is Delhi’s oldest constituency, comprises the following Vidhan Sabha segments: Karol Bagh, Patel Nagar, Moti Nagar, Delhi Cantonment, Rajinder Nagar, New Delhi, Kasturba Nagar, Malviya Nagar, RK Puram and Greater Kailash. This constituency houses several prestigious institutions like Parliament House, the Supreme Court, ministries and other central government offices, the official residences of the President, the Prime Minister, all union ministers, top civil, judicial and military officials and the diplomatic enclave, making it one of the most high-profile areas of Delhi.  Read more: Missing names and missed opportunities: A Chennai citizen’s experience of elections…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha 2024: Know your MP — Parvesh Sahib Singh Verma, West Delhi

Parvesh Verma, who is the son of former Delhi chief minister Sahib Singh Verma, has made rapid progress in the BJP in past decade.

Parvesh Sahib Singh Verma is the incumbent MP for West Delhi Lok Sabha Constituency. He is a member of the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party and has won from West Delhi twice, in 2014 and 2019. Parvesh Verma is one of the many rising young stars in the BJP, who got elected in 2014 at the age of 36. He is the son of the former chief minister of Delhi, Sahib Singh Verma. He also served as an MLA, getting elected from Mehrauli in 2013. With the rise of Narendra Modi and the advent of AAP in Delhi, Verma got elected…