For good governance, everyone should do their own job

The Chief Minister wants to do the Mayor’s job, and keeps most of the power and finances needed for the city with the State government, rather than devolving them. The Mayor is attending to complaints from the public and trying to resolve them, which is good, but surely that seems like the Commissioner’s job. Without a framework for running the city, there is total chaos, and no realistic expectation of improvement.

What is needed?

(a) The CM should constitute the Metropolitan Planning Committee for the Bangalore Region, let SOMEONE ELSE lead the planning, so that there is sufficient mind-space to the job properly without the pull of other responsibilities. He should also convert BDA into a single agency for all infra development (roads, pipes, drains, bridges, everything) so that there is no passing of the buck between agencies responsible for different aspects of public infra.

(b) The Mayor should set GOALS to be achieved through administration during his tenure, and ask the Commissioner and his team to achieve them. He should also keep pushing the state government to devolve more and more powers and finances to the city leadership.

(c) The Commissioner should educate his team about the goals he has agreed with the Mayor, and ask them to give weekly reports on progress towards the goals. He should also instruct them to engage with the public in resolving day-to-day issues.

(d) The corporators in their respective wards should ensure that the goals for their wards are being achieved, by having ward staff report to them in the same way that the senior officials report to the Mayor. The Council should also support the Mayor’s effort to make city administration strong, and as far as possible independent of interference from the State administration.

(e) The citizens should vote for representatives who understand this separation of roles

Related Articles

Mayorji, Bengaluru’s IT industry can do these for free – want to take them up?
Recipe for success: Seven things that you must do every week
Bangalore’s roads: Poorly planned, neglected, battered

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: Chandni Chowk — Know your constituency and candidates

Delhi-based businessman, Praveen Khandelwal of the BJP takes on Congress' Jai Prakash Agarwal. Know more about them and other contenders.

Table of contentsAbout the constituencyMap of the Constituency Find your polling boothIncumbent MP: Harsh Vardhan, BJPOnline PresenceCriminal CasesPositions HeldPerformance in ParliamentMPLAD fundsCandidates contesting in 2024Key Candidates in the newsIssues of the constituencyAlso read About the constituency  Chandni Chowk Lok Sabha constituency is one of the seven Lok Sabha constituencies in the Indian National Capital Territory of Delhi. This constituency came into existence in 1956. It is the smallest constituency of Lok Sabha in terms of area. Since the delimitation of parliamentary constituencies in 2008, it is made up of ten assembly constituencies, which are Adarsh Nagar, Shalimar Bagh, Shakur Basti, Tri…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: West Delhi — Know your constituency and candidates

West Delhi will see Mahabal Mishra on an AAP ticket this time, against the BJP's Kamaljeet Sehrawat. More on them and others in the contest.

Table of contentsAt a glance- West Delhi ConstituencyFind your polling boothPast election resultsIncumbent MP: Parvesh Sahib Singh Verma, BJPCandidates contesting in 2024Additional informationKey candidates in the newsKey issues and challenges in the constituencyAlso read The Delhi West Lok Sabha constituency comprises ten Vidhan Sabha constituencies: 26-Madipur, 27-Rajouri Garden, 28-Hari Nagar, 29-Tilak Nagar, 30-Janakpuri, 31- Vikaspuri, 32-Uttam Nagar, 33-Dwarka, 34-Matiala, 35-Najafgarh. The first five fall in the West Delhi district and the next five in the South West Delhi district. The constituency as it exists today came into being in 2008 after the delimitation. The first member of Parliament to be…