Once again, govt to allow commercial activities only in roads 40 ft or wider

The government’s zonal regulations amendment does not match BDA’s affidavit. So HC directs the BBMP not to issue certificates to the six projects sanctioned of late.

The state government has told the High Court that they will amend the Bengaluru Development Authority’s Revised Master Plan-2015 Zonal Regulations to conform to the BDA’s affidavit submitted recently to the court.

The government’s counsel agreed before the Division Bench comprising of Chief Justice D H Waghela and Justice Ram Mohan Reddy to make necessary changes within 10 days. Namma Bengaluru Foundation (NBF) had filed a writ petition in the High Court questioning the changes made by the state government in the Zonal Regulations which were not in line with BDA’s affidavit.

BDA had said: Not me

In the earlier hearing on February 18th, the BDA had submitted that it had not suggested changes to the zonal regulations that were published by the government. Then the court sought to know whether BBMP had sanctioned any plans in last two months, after the amended zonal regulation came into effect on December 11th, 2014.

On Monday, the BBMP lawyer responded saying that the BBMP had sanctioned six plans in last two months. While criticising the BBMP for being ‘diligent’ in sanctioning plans, the chief justice directed the authority to not issue any documents including Occupancy Certificate, to the six sanctioned plans.

Justice Ram Mohan Reddy took a dig at the government for not consulting the Bangalore Metropolitan Planning Committee (MPC) before taking decisions on policy changes for Bengaluru. The court urged the government to keep the relevant authorities including the BBMP and BDA informed too.

Though the court had sought the presence of BBMP Commissioner, he failed to appear before the court on Monday. The court then adjourned the hearing to March 2nd.

Related Articles

HC asks State govt to defend diluted planning rules or withdraw
Bengaluru Master plan: Will RMP 2035 meet the fate of RMP 2015?
BBMP admits to zoning violation in Panduranganagar, blames Master Plan
BDA begins revision of Bengaluru’s master plan
Master Plan not legal: PIL in High Court
Citizens move court over BDA’s change of stance in the amended master plan
CAF sends inputs on Bengaluru master plan
City Master plan: BDA must get the vision right

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

The trials of a school in Northeast Delhi in the aftermath of the 2020 riots

Rioters had left the Arun Modern Senior Secondary Public School in shambles in 2020. Here's the tale of its journey from then to now.

Kakul Sharma was in class 8 in 2020 when the Delhi riots occurred. Although she was safe at home, her school was attacked by a mob. "I thought I would never be able to go back to school. We believed that the world was ending. My sister cried all day when she saw a news channel telecasting the rubble of our school.” For the children of Northeast Delhi, like Kakul, the riot meant a school blackened by smoke, a charred library, broken benches, and a playground that looked like it was hit by a tornado. This was the shape in…

Similar Story

Push government to implement all welfare measures in Street Vendors Act : Lekha Adavi

Lekha Adavi, a member of AICTU, says that without BBMP elections, there are no corporators to address the issues of street vendors.

(In part 1 of the interview series, Lekha Adavi, member of the All India Centre of Trade Unions (AICTU), spoke about the effects of climate change on Bengaluru’s street vendors. In part 2, she highlights how The Street Vendors Act (Protection of Livelihood and Regulation of street vending) 2014 falls short in its implementation) Excerpts: How do you engage with local authorities or municipal agencies to raise awareness of the challenges faced by street vendors during temperature surges? What responses or support do they provide? Lekha: Well, they don't respond to any of our demands. In Bengaluru, the BBMP elections…