Child rights activist to take on biggies in B’lore South

She is a social worker with proven track records - Nina will be taking on Ananthkumar and Nandan Nilekani in Bangalore South.

Nina P Nayak Pic: Nikita Malusare

Nina P Nayak, contesting on an AAP ticket, with 30 years of experience as a social worker and member of various Child Rights committees, now forays into representing Bangalore South at the Lok Sabha, though she stays in Malleshwaram which belongs to Bangalore North constituency.

She has worked extensively on the child protection front. Her works have significantly contributed for the recognition of child rights, policy formulation for these rights and their implementation by the Government of India. She has been actively promoting the implementation of ‘Juvenile Justice Act’ and the ‘Protection of Children Against Sexual Offenses Act’. In 2009, when she was appointed as the Chairperson of the Karnataka State Commission for Protection of Child Rights, she was quoted saying, “we hope to be the eyes and ears of child protection”.

Born in a Chennai household, father retired as Tamil Nadu DGP and rather than following her father’s advice of getting into police services, she completed her Masters in Social Work. Since then she has worked in the field, from Chennai, Kolkata, Delhi and Bangalore. Her mother tongue is Konkani but Nina Nayak can speak six Indian languages because her father had a job that required them moving from one city to the other.

Brief profile

Name: Nina P Nayak

Party: Aam Aadmi Party

Education: M.A. Social Work (Stella Maris College), Certificate in Human Rights

Profession: Social Activist. Currently an honorary member of the Governing Council, India Law Institute, New Delhi.

Age: 60 years
Assets:  Rs. 3,51,28,117
Contact Details:
Address: Flat 2, Chitrakoot Apartments, 18th Cross Road, Malleswaram West, Bangalore – 55, Karnataka
Phone Number: 9483518349
Email ID:

Prominent positions held

  • Chairperson, Child Welfare Committee, Bangalore
  • Chairperson, Karnataka State Commission for Protection of Child Rights
  • Member of the National Commission for Protection of Child Rights
  • Member of the Sub-Committee on children for the 11th five-year Plan, National Planning Commission of India.
  • Honorary Vice President for Indian Council for Child Welfare, New Delhi  

Awards and achievements

  • Recipient of Sadguru Gnanananda National Award for Social Entrepreneurship
  • Recognition for Dedication to Social Work by the Bolar Education Trust.
  • She has trained several organisations across states on subjects of
    • Child rights – protection, development and participation
    • Juvenile Justice  System – Children in need of Care and Protection –  Rehabilitation and Social Integration.
    • She has made a number of presentations and publications on implementing and monitoring child protection services and co-authored a Handbook that is referred to by Child Welfare Committees across the nation.

To read about Nina Nayak’s campaign, click here.

To read her interview, click here.

Related Articles

We will set up AAP ward committees if we win: Nina Nayak
Nina tries to woo the Aam Aadmi wearing anticorruption hat

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Mumbai, meet your new MPs from neighbouring Thane and Kalyan

Thane and Kalyan voters elected MPs from Eknath Shinde's Shiv Sena. Here is all you need to know about the two winning candidates.

Table of contentsThane: Naresh Mhaske, Shiv SenaElection results for Thane constituencyWho is Naresh Ganpat Mhaske?Political experienceChallenges in the Thane constituencyKey promises made by Naresh MhaskeKalyan: Dr. Shrikant Shinde, Shiv SenaElection results for Kalyan constituencyWho is Dr. Shrikant Shinde?MPLADs spending of Dr. Shrikant ShindePolitical experienceChallenges in the Kalyan constituencyKey promises made by Dr. Shrikant ShindeAlso read: Both the Thane and Kalyan constituencies have been bagged by the Shiv Sena (Eknath Shinde led faction) in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections. The two MPs who have been elected from Thane and Kalyan are Naresh Mhaske and Dr. Shrikant Shinde respectively. Here is comprehensive…

Similar Story

Bengaluru, meet your new MPs

The BJP secured a victory in all four parliamentary constituencies in Bengaluru. Here is a detailed report on the elected MPs.

Table of contentsBangalore North: Shobha Karandlaje, BJPElection resultsAbout Bangalore North constituencyShobha Karandlaje's political experience Positions heldEducationCriminal recordAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in the constituencyKey promisesBangalore South: Tejasvi Surya, BJPAbout Bangalore South constituencyElection resultsTejasvi Surya's political experiencePositions held:EducationCriminal recordMPLAD detailsAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in the constituencyKey promisesBangalore Central: PC Mohan, BJPAbout Bangalore Central constituencyElection resultsPC Mohan's political experience Positions held:EducationCriminal recordMPLADS detailsAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in constituencyKey promisesBangalore Rural: Dr CN Manjunath, BJPElection resultsAbout Bangalore Rural constituencyDr. CN Manjunath's political experience EducationCriminal recordAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in the constituencyKey promisesAlso read The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) secured a victory in all four Parliamentary Constituencies in Bengaluru in the 2024…