Constituency round-up: Industrialised Sriperumbudur wants water and sewage woes fixed

Besides these, jobs could be another major poll issue in the constituency. Learn more about the sitting MLA and the other candidates in the fray.

Sriperumbudur assembly constituency is famous for its factories and for being the site of the assassination of former Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi. The constituency is highly industrialized, with many manufacturing units. Yet, large parts of the constituency struggle to get drinking water and basic amenities. Connectivity too has been a weak link, with citizens complaining of lack of frequent bus services. While the presence of the factories has brought some positive developments, the residential areas hope to see improvement in amenities and new infrastructure projects.

Representative image.

Sriperumbudur sees a faceoff between incumbent ADMK MLA K Palani and Selvapurnthagai K of Congress this assembly election.

Read more: Sriperumbudur candidates: Heavyweight takes on newbie; infrastructure in focus

Votes cast (2016)

  • Total number of voters:  235012
  • Male Voters: 118898
  • Female voters: 116114
  • Third gender: 0
  • Polling percentage: 77.10%

2016 election results

PartyCandidateVotes acquiredPercentage of votes polled
(As per ECI website)
AIADMKK Palani1,01,00142.77
INCSelva Perunthagai K90,28538.23
PMKMuthuraman C18,1857.70
VCKVeerakumar M13,6795.79
BJPManoharan M3,9391.67

MLA Profile 2016

  • Name: K Palani
  • Party: AIADMK
  • Age: 54
  • Criminal Cases: Nil
  • Victory margin: 10,716 votes

Source: ECI 

In the news

  • MLA Palani K was one of three MLAs who decided to remain in Chief Minister Edappadi Palanisamy’s camp when offered a post in the breakaway faction of the ADMK by Sasikala. 
  • The MLA has come under the scanner for refusing to check encroachment of the Porur lake, with locals alleging that inspection of encroachments in the area by the Public Works Department had been stopped at his behest. 
  • MLA K Palani was one of the electors from the state to test positive for COVID-19. He was involved in relief activities in his constituency.

Know your candidates now

S. NoNamePartyAgeOccupation/EducationCriminal Cases
1Palani KAll India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam59Farmer/ Class 5Nil
2Selvaperunthagai KIndian National Congress60Business/ BA; BL3 pending cases, 0 convictions
3Thanigaivel MMakkal Needhi Maiam43Doctor/ MD, HomoeopathyNil
4Selvamani PAmma Makkal Munnetra Kazhagam56Tailor/Class 9Nil
5Pushparaj DNaam Tamil Katchi45Farmer/M.ComNil
6Lokesh EDesiya Makkal Sakthi Katchi28Singer/B.ComNil
7Vinoth EBahujan Samaj Party34Catering/ ITINil
8Saroja SIndependent68Daily wage worker/ Class 3Nil
9Leena VIndependent39Housewife/ Class 10Nil
10Sudhakar PIndependent41Business/ Class 12Nil
11Devarajan K Independent41Lawyer/ LLBNil
12Vedhagiri RIndependent51Farmer/ Class 5Nil
13Vasanthi EIndependent38Housewife/ Class 12Nil
14Parthiban MIndependent38Farmer/B.comNil
15Vairamuthu DIndependent43Business/ Class 1010 pending cases

Source: ECI. To know more about the candidates, check their affidavits here.

Key issues

  • Water is a prime concern for many residents in the area. Even though the constituency is highly industrialized, many residents complain of lack of regular water supply. Water shortage even took center stage during the recent Lok Sabha elections with residents talking of their inability to carry out daily activities as a result. 
  • The second airport project has been in a limbo for some time, leaving residents unhappy. While latest reports suggest that the project will take off by 2021, these promises too could fail. 
  • Sewage connections have been another pain point for residents in Sriperumbudur. “Many areas do not have proper sewage connections and there are tankers who sully the water bodies by collecting sewage from apartments and resorts and dumping them here,” complained R Vaithyanathan, a shopkeeper.
  • Job losses from factories of big companies such as Pfizer has affected many local residents. “Previously we were able to get jobs in the area as locals. But there is no job security anymore as the companies here are themselves struggling to survive”, says Muthukumaram K, a contract worker.

Also read:


  1. T v v KRISHNAN says:

    Metro rail connection between Vandalur to Sriperumbudur via Oragadam required as there is no adequate transport facilities are not available.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: Chandni Chowk — Know your constituency and candidates

Delhi-based businessman, Praveen Khandelwal of the BJP takes on Congress' Jai Prakash Agarwal. Know more about them and other contenders.

Table of contentsAbout the constituencyMap of the Constituency Find your polling boothIncumbent MP: Harsh Vardhan, BJPOnline PresenceCriminal CasesPositions HeldPerformance in ParliamentMPLAD fundsCandidates contesting in 2024Key Candidates in the newsIssues of the constituencyAlso read About the constituency  Chandni Chowk Lok Sabha constituency is one of the seven Lok Sabha constituencies in the Indian National Capital Territory of Delhi. This constituency came into existence in 1956. It is the smallest constituency of Lok Sabha in terms of area. Since the delimitation of parliamentary constituencies in 2008, it is made up of ten assembly constituencies, which are Adarsh Nagar, Shalimar Bagh, Shakur Basti, Tri…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: West Delhi — Know your constituency and candidates

West Delhi will see Mahabal Mishra on an AAP ticket this time, against the BJP's Kamaljeet Sehrawat. More on them and others in the contest.

Table of contentsAt a glance- West Delhi ConstituencyFind your polling boothPast election resultsIncumbent MP: Parvesh Sahib Singh Verma, BJPCandidates contesting in 2024Additional informationKey candidates in the newsKey issues and challenges in the constituencyAlso read The Delhi West Lok Sabha constituency comprises ten Vidhan Sabha constituencies: 26-Madipur, 27-Rajouri Garden, 28-Hari Nagar, 29-Tilak Nagar, 30-Janakpuri, 31- Vikaspuri, 32-Uttam Nagar, 33-Dwarka, 34-Matiala, 35-Najafgarh. The first five fall in the West Delhi district and the next five in the South West Delhi district. The constituency as it exists today came into being in 2008 after the delimitation. The first member of Parliament to be…