BJP manifesto for BBMP election 2015

BJP that ruled BBMP for the last five years has promised elevated and signal-free corridors, along with more green space and a tree for every person in the city. Read the detailed manifesto below.

Highlights from the BJP manifesto for BBMP election – 2015

  • BJP manifesto lists the achievements in last five years. “The city’s revenues have more than doubled from 500 crores to 2000 crores,” says the manifesto, and lists signal-free corridor, rejuvenation-restoration of over 80 lakes, development of 100 parks, housing up to 10000 for the urban poor, providing drainage system for newly included suburban localities, providing 512 MLD of water from Cauvery 4th stage for a part of newly added 110 villages, creating Road History for Bengaluru etc as some of the achievements.
  • BJP manifesto also claims credit for Bengaluru topping the chart in cleanliness index released recently by the Central government.
  • The manifesto does not forget to bash its traditional enemy, Indian National Congress.  It says Siddaramaiah has woken up recently, just before the elections. It also says Congress has only played blame-game.
  • The manifesto lists the contributions to Bengaluru by various NDA and state governments, which the BJP was a part of.
  • The manifesto does not promise a unified Bengaluru, but says Brand Bengaluru will be retained, administration reforms will be undertaken, administrative divisions will be done, strengthening of TVCC, sync in usage of funds from MLA, MP and mayors, upgrading BBMP testing lab, referring to road history data before taking up new projects, transparency in administration, mandatory online application for housing plan sanctions and time-bound approvals under Sakala, BBMP mobile app, CCTV in BBMP offices and maintaining recordings upto three months, skills training for BBMP staff etc are some promises that the manifesto lays down.
  • And this is the most important declaration in the manifesto: Ward committees will be formed within three months of Palike formation, mandatory consultation with the ward committee before taking up projects, presenting detailed reports of the expenditure of various works as well as collection of house-tax and other revenue details to the ward committee is what BJP promises.
  • More signal free corridors, elevated corridors, bus corridors, promoting public transport, booking and blacklisting poorly performing contractors, repair of potholes within 48 hours of receiving the complaints, more parking lots in PPP mode, uniform pedestrian crossing policy across Bengaluru within 30 days of assuming power, ensuring the leased assets of BBMP are used for the purpose mentioned at the time of leasing, strengthening the legal cell of BBMP, various steps for revenue enhancement etc are the steps that are promised.
  • BJP has also promised to do what it could not do in last five years: remitting of beggars’ and library cess to those departments, presenting realistic budgets, cancelling of district-in-charge minister’s funds, deputy mayor’s funds and standing committee president funds, rainwater tanks in all public places, planting more trees, more gardens and parks in PPP mode, 140 biomethanation plants, more housing for poor, maintenance of cleanliness in public places, toilets and drinking water at autorickshaw stands, handing over schools to State Education Department.
  • The manifesto says that a special surveillance committee will be set up to ensure effective implementation of all commitment made to the citizens during elections, upon assuming office. The committee will provide necessary suggestions to realise electoral promises.

Incindentally, here is what BJP promised in 2010, and the status of promises in bracket:

  • Planning and implementing Bengaluru development Vision – 2020 (Vision 2020 remains on paper)
  • Mono rail network, local train service (Nothing done yet, though there is talk of suburban railways.)
  • 8-lane roads at all entry points of the city (The promise seems to have forgotten)
  • Rejuvenate Vrishabhavathi, Kumudavathi and Arkavathi rivers to solve drinking water issue (No tangible results)
  • Gas based 1400 MW power plant near Bidadi to solve electricity crisis (Power plants don’t come under the purview of municipalities.)
  • Construction of 10 new skywalkers within a year (Number of skywalks has gone up, and all skywalks are serving advertising firms well.)
  • Develop all 104 lakes in the city in five years (Lakes that are really developed are countable.)
  • Develop 20 vehicle parking complexes within 2 years (Nothing much has been done yet)
  • Construct 4 satellite bus stations in the city (Where are they?)
  • UGD lines to areas in newly added five zones within 3 years (BWSSB is working on it. It is a work-in-progress. Many areas still suffer from lack of UGD.)
  • Constructing 50,000 houses for slum dwellers in 3 years. (Where are the houses?)
  • Implementing Akrama Sakrama immediately (Akrama Sakrama has been questioned in court by citizens, and has not been implemented yet. Meanwhile number of unauthorised constructions has increased.)
  • Implementation of waste segregation at source (This still remains a dream in most of the areas in the city)
  • Upgrading 93 roads to four-lane

See the full manifesto for 2015 below:

[embeddoc url=”” download=”none”]

Related Articles

BBMP Elections 2015: Special coverage by Citizen Matters

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: North East Delhi — Know your constituency and candidates

In the high profile contest for North East Delhi, BJP's star MP Manoj Tiwari takes on the firebrand Kanhaiya Kumar (INC). Who are the others?

Table of contentsAbout the constituencyAt a glanceMap of the constituencyFind your polling boothPast election resultsIncumbent MP : Manoj Kumar TiwariOnline presenceCriminal casesPositions heldAssets and LiabilitiesPerformance in ParliamentMPLAD funds utilisationCandidates contesting in 2024Key candidates in the newsIssues of the constituencyAlso read About the constituency Well known for its high migrant labour population from the states of Haryana, Uttar Pradesh and Bihar, North East Delhi constituency comprises the following areas: Burari, Timarpur, Karawal Nagar, Ghonda, Babarpur, Gokalpur (SC), Seemapuri (SC), Seelampur, Rohtas Nagar and Mustafabad. This constituency has the highest average population density of 36,155 persons per square km — the highest…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: Chandni Chowk — Know your constituency and candidates

Delhi-based businessman, Praveen Khandelwal of the BJP takes on Congress' Jai Prakash Agarwal. Know more about them and other contenders.

Table of contentsAbout the constituencyMap of the Constituency Find your polling boothIncumbent MP: Harsh Vardhan, BJPOnline PresenceCriminal CasesPositions HeldPerformance in ParliamentMPLAD fundsCandidates contesting in 2024Key Candidates in the newsIssues of the constituencyAlso read About the constituency  Chandni Chowk Lok Sabha constituency is one of the seven Lok Sabha constituencies in the Indian National Capital Territory of Delhi. This constituency came into existence in 1956. It is the smallest constituency of Lok Sabha in terms of area. Since the delimitation of parliamentary constituencies in 2008, it is made up of ten assembly constituencies, which are Adarsh Nagar, Shalimar Bagh, Shakur Basti, Tri…