How have BBMP wards been redrawn in delimitation draft?

As per the BBMP delimitation proposal, ward boundaries will be redrawn so that over two dozen existing wards will be replaced with new ones. Read on to find which wards will be affected.

The delimitation of BBMP wards is being initiated ahead of the civic polls scheduled this year. On March 2, the Urban Development Department (UDD) notified the draft BBMP delimitation proposal in the gazette. With delimitation, ward boundaries will be redrawn so that the population of each ward will be nearly equal, at 42,645 on average.

Objections/suggestions to this notification, can be submitted, along with with reasons, in writing to the Deputy Commissioner, Bengaluru Urban District, Bengaluru, by 16 March 2020.

The idea behind delimitation is to reduce the huge disparity in population among wards. Currently the population in outer wards is much higher than that of wards in core areas; hence the former are not adequately represented in the Council and don’t get sufficient budget allocation.

The delimitation draft proposes to introduce 29 new wards, and to remove an equivalent number of  existing wards. The total number of wards will remain the same at 198. However, the new wards will remain within the boundaries of the same assembly constituency. The draft had been jointly prepared by the BBMP and Bengaluru Urban district administration. 

Wards that will be removed and created, constituency-wise

Constituency Ward to be removed Ruling Party New ward added
Yelahanka Atturu BJP Bettahalli
Byatarayanapura Byatarayanapura

Kuvempu Nagara




Gundanjaneya temple



Hebbala Gangenahalli

JC Nagar



RT Nagar
RR Nagar HMT INC Bahubali Nagar



Pulikeshi Nagar S K Garden INC
Shivajinagar Jayamahal




Malleshwaram Kadu Malleshwara BJP
Mahalakshmi Layout Mahalakshmi Pura INC Maruthi Nagar
Rajaji Nagar Prakash Nagar

Kamakshi Palya



Govindaraja Nagara Agrahara Dasarahalli






Amarajyothi Nagar

Kalyana Nagar

Shanthinagara Agaram BJP
Chickpet Sudhama Nagara




Chamrajpet KR Market




BTM Layout Adugodi INC
Padmanabha Nagara Ganesha Mandira  BJP Dharmagiri Sri Manjunatha Swamy Temple 
Jayanagara Pattabhirama Nagar

JP Nagar



Gandhi Nagar Subhash Nagar




Bengaluru South Konanakunte BJP Subrahmanyapura


Kalena Agrahara


Yeshwanthapura Byadarahalli


Dasarahalli  Chikkasandra


Sarvajna Nagar Hennur
Mahadevapura Doddakannalli


Bommanahalli Singasandra


KR Puram Challakere


Why delimitation now?

The delimitation of BBMP wards is to be done every 10 years due to the city’s increasing population. The previous delimitation exercise was done in 2010, based on 2001 Census data. In 2001, Bengaluru’s population was 58.4 lakh, and the average ward population was 29,496.

But in the 2011 Census, the total population had grown to 84.43 lakh (an increase of nearly 45%), and correspondingly, the average ward population increased to 42,645. The increase in population was particularly high in the assembly constituencies in outer areas – Yeshwanthapura (162%) followed by Bengaluru South (156%), Mahadevapura (140.2%), Bommanahalli (128.9%) and Byatarayanapura (127.6%).

Core areas like Shivajinagar and Chickpet witnessed population dip by 3.5% and 3.3% respectively. However, population did grow in some core areas like Malleshwaram (1.1%), Gandhi Nagar (1.4%), Rajaji Nagar (3%) and Shanthinagar (3.5%).

Ward numbers will increase in outer areas, decrease in core areas

With delimitation, outer areas of the city will get more wards whereas core areas will lose one or more wards. BBMP currently has about 132 wards in core areas and 66 wards in outer areas. It estimates that the number of wards in core areas should be reduced to 115, and those in outer areas increased to 83. The wards will be merged or split within the same constituency.

As per the draft delimitation proposal, assembly constituencies in core areas, like Shivaji Nagar, Rajaji Nagar, Chamrajpet, Jayanagar and Chickpet – all of which now have seven wards each – will lose two wards as these will be merged with their neighbouring wards. Malleshwaram (7 wards), BTM Layout (8), Hebbala (8), Pulikeshinagar (7), Shanthi Nagar (7), Gandhi Nagar (7) and Govindraja Nagar (9), will lose one ward each. 

Assembly constituencies in outer areas like K R Puram (9 wards), Byatarayanapura (7), Yeshwanthapura (5), RR Nagar (9), Dasarahalli (8), Mahadevapura (8) and Bommanahalli (8) will gain two wards each. Sarvajna Nagar (8) will get one fresh ward within its boundary, and Bengaluru South (7) will get three new wards.

Citizen groups like Whitefield Rising are opposing the draft delimitation proposal on grounds that it’s based on outdated population data. For example, in Mahadevapura, the average ward population now is about 75,000, they say, whereas the delimitation proposal assumes that the population is still around 42,000 based on the 2011 Census.

Ward numbers in the remaining six constituencies in the city – Mahalakshmi Layout (7 wards), Yelahanka (4), Vijay Nagar (8) Basavanagudi (6), CV Raman Nagar (7) and Padmanabha Nagar (8) – will remain the same. But the names of some of the wards in these constituencies will be changed, and their boundaries too changed to some extent.

For example, in Yelahanka constituency, Attur ward will be replaced with the new ward ‘Bettahalli’. Mahalakshmi Layout ward will be replaced by ‘Nagapura’, in Mahalakshmi Layout constituency. And in Padmanabha Nagar constituency, Ganesh Mandira ward will be replaced by ‘Dharmagiri Sri Manjunatha Swamy Temple ward’.

However, the entire process for the final notification of the draft would take at least two months after the deadline for submitting public objections. Speaking to Citizen Matters, BBMP Chief B H Anil Kumar said, “The final approval would take two months’ time which means, till June. The UDD will notify it once it is approved,” he said.


  1. Zamin shariff says:

    It is better to stopdel8mitation of wards. It should be taken up after NPR.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

What is the ‘smartness’ quotient of Chennai?

The Smart City Advisory Forum was convened in Chennai only 5 times since 2016, showing minimal participation by elected representatives.

Chennai is among the first few cities to get selected under the Smart City Mission programme in 2016. As many as 48 projects under different categories were taken up under the scheme. With only a couple of projects left to be completed, isn't Chennai supposed to look 'smart' now? The much-hyped Central government scheme, launched in 2014, was envisioned to build core infrastructure and evolve 'smart' solutions that would make cities more livable and sustainable. But, a decade since, the reality on the ground may be a little different. While some of the facilities provided under these projects are under-utilised,…

Similar Story

Scenes from a community walk in Mumbai

When I moved to Mumbai, the city felt extremely 'walkable,' but a walking tour in Dadar broadened my definition of walkability.

When I moved to Mumbai in June 2023 for work, I found myself going for sight seeing to the city's tourist destinations. Though the city appeared to have consistent and wide footpaths almost everywhere, vehicular right of way seemed to be prioritised over the pedestrian right of way. This struck me as very strange, even as I continued to enjoy walking through lanes of Mumbai very much. On one hand, there is excellent footpath coverage, utilised by large crowds everywhere. On the other hand, speeding vehicles create obstacles for something as simple as crossing the road.  "Though Mumbai appeared to…