431 candidates in 27 constituencies: Which ones are yours?

Elections are a great time to analyse many issues that go unexplored otherwise. Take a look at the data compiled, to see the trends and patterns. Go through what we have compiled, to make an informed choice!

Citizen Matters and Open City, our open data initiative has been sharing information and data about incumbent MLAs with their track record, candidates and details of past elections. This map gives you an easy way to check your constituency and candidates contesting elections. 

A quick analysis of Bengaluru Assembly Constituencies Candidates shows:

  • Total 431 candidates in Bengaluru
  • Hebbal has 28 contestants, and an average of 16 candidates per Bengaluru constituency
  • 51 parties and 191 independents contesting.
  • Bharatiya Janata Party and Indian National Congress contesting all seats, JDS in all but Anekal
  • One of the newest parties All India Mahila Empowerment Party is contesting in 21 constituencies!! But only 2 women – BTM Layout’s Kum. Jayalakshmi B V, Jeelani Fathima from Byatarayanapura
  • Communist parties are contesting just 2-3 seats each – CPI(M), CPI(ML) and SUCI(M)
  • Shiv Sena is contesting Yeshvanthapura, Hebbal, Chamrajpet and Bommanahalli
  • Aam Aadmi Party has 11 candidates
  • 5 candidates from Ambedkar National Congress, Ambedkar Samaj Party, Ambedkarite Party of India

Where are the rich candidates in Bengaluru?

We added all the wealth declared by all candidates in a constituency, and divided it by the number of candidates. Chikpet emerges to be the most wealthy constituency, followed by Hebbal and Bommanahalli. [Data source]


Check the complete information on the constituency of your choice, here: citizenmatters.in/may12.  More voter information for all constituencies of Bengaluru can be checked here: bengaluru.citizenmatters.in/author/poll-desk

Voter guide: https://citizenmatters.in/voters-guide-karnataka-assembly-elections-2018-faq-24980

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Mumbai, meet your new MPs from neighbouring Thane and Kalyan

Thane and Kalyan voters elected MPs from Eknath Shinde's Shiv Sena. Here is all you need to know about the two winning candidates.

Table of contentsThane: Naresh Mhaske, Shiv SenaElection results for Thane constituencyWho is Naresh Ganpat Mhaske?Political experienceChallenges in the Thane constituencyKey promises made by Naresh MhaskeKalyan: Dr. Shrikant Shinde, Shiv SenaElection results for Kalyan constituencyWho is Dr. Shrikant Shinde?MPLADs spending of Dr. Shrikant ShindePolitical experienceChallenges in the Kalyan constituencyKey promises made by Dr. Shrikant ShindeAlso read: Both the Thane and Kalyan constituencies have been bagged by the Shiv Sena (Eknath Shinde led faction) in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections. The two MPs who have been elected from Thane and Kalyan are Naresh Mhaske and Dr. Shrikant Shinde respectively. Here is comprehensive…

Similar Story

Bengaluru, meet your new MPs

The BJP secured a victory in all four parliamentary constituencies in Bengaluru. Here is a detailed report on the elected MPs.

Table of contentsBangalore North: Shobha Karandlaje, BJPElection resultsAbout Bangalore North constituencyShobha Karandlaje's political experience Positions heldEducationCriminal recordAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in the constituencyKey promisesBangalore South: Tejasvi Surya, BJPAbout Bangalore South constituencyElection resultsTejasvi Surya's political experiencePositions held:EducationCriminal recordMPLAD detailsAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in the constituencyKey promisesBangalore Central: PC Mohan, BJPAbout Bangalore Central constituencyElection resultsPC Mohan's political experience Positions held:EducationCriminal recordMPLADS detailsAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in constituencyKey promisesBangalore Rural: Dr CN Manjunath, BJPElection resultsAbout Bangalore Rural constituencyDr. CN Manjunath's political experience EducationCriminal recordAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in the constituencyKey promisesAlso read The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) secured a victory in all four Parliamentary Constituencies in Bengaluru in the 2024…