Voter registration drive at office campuses

VoteDeIndia has been conducting voter registration drives at MNC campuses in Bangalore, most recently at Cognizant and Sasken.

Voter registration for Bengaluru’s MNC employees is now as simple as a walk to their cafe!

VoteDeIndia has been conducting such drives at MNC campuses throughout Bangalore, most recently at Cognizant and Sasken. VoteDeIndia is volunteer, non-profit and non-partisian initiative run by a group Bangaloreans from the Infotech sector to increasing voter (electorate) turnout.

The drive, which started with on-campus registrations in September, has been helping non-registered voters to register, so that they become eligible to get a voter ID. So far, VoteDeIndia has been successful in getting around 1000 members to sign up.

VoteDeIndia helps individuals in:

(1) Accurate identification of constituency and ward (This info is needed to fill and file Form-6, the voter registration form)

(2) Online filling so that forms are unambiguously and clearly readable by government electoral reigstration offices.

(3) Citizens can file the signed Form-6 right at their employer’s cafe. VoteDeIndia will deliver the forms to appropriate electoral registration offices (ERO).

This registration drive will run long as the ERO offices continue to accept Form-6 (which could be until Feb 2009).

So MNC employees, among readers of Citizen Matters, can help themselves and help their co-employees by approaching VoteDeIndia to conduct such drives at their own campuses.

For more information, contact:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Stalled projects, discrimination by Centre hurting Mumbai: Incumbent MP Arvind Sawant

Arvind Sawant is contesting for the third time from Mumbai South and is confident of winning the seat for Uddhav Thackeray's Sena.

Arvind Sawant, who has served two terms as the MP from Mumbai South, is raring to go as he prepares to fight for a third term. His opponents are a divided house and the official candidate is yet to be announced here. Leaders such as Rahul Narwekar, Mangal Prabhat Lodha, Yeshwant Jadhav are eyeing this seat. So is Milind Deora, who has already been nominated to the Rajya Sabha now and had previously lost to Sawant in the two Lok Sabha elections in 2014 and 2019.  Mumbai South is comprised of the assembly constituencies of Colaba, Mumbadevi, Byculla, Malabar Hill,…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha 2024: Know your MP – P C Mohan, Bangalore Central Constituency

With a long history in politics, the three-time MP, P C Mohan, is all set to contest from Bangalore Central constituency.

P. Chikkamuni Mohan or P C Mohan is a three-time Lok Sabha MP representing Bangalore Central constituency. The BJP MP has a long innings in politics. He was the MLA of Chickpet assembly constituency for two terms, from 1999 to 2008. He got elected as MP in the 15th (2009), 16th (2014) and 17th (2019) Lok Sabha elections from Bangalore Central. In 2019, Mohan got 6,02,853 votes (50.35%); while his rival Rizwan Arshad of Indian National Congress (INC) got 5,31,885 votes (44.43%). In 2014, Mohan got 51.85 % of the 10,74,602 votes cast in Bangalore Central constituency. He defeated his…