Yeshwanthpur: Suburb area lacks proper infrastructure

With the incumbent MLA, Shobha Karandlaje’s ministerial career mired with controversies and her shift to the KJP, the constituency remains as neglected as it was.

All wards in Yeshwanthpur constituency are recent additions to the BBMP. This is a large constituency which also includes villages outside the BBMP limits. Hence many areas lack basic facilities compared to old BBMP areas.

Kengeri railway station and Kengeri satellite town come under this constituency. It also has many industries. NICE (Nandi Infrastructure Corridor Enterprises) ring road and BMIC (Bangalore Mysore Infrastructure Corridor) passes through the constituency. There have been protests about NICE Ltd acquiring more road than is required, and using it to build private layouts.

There have been various court cases on this; but in a recent affidavit, the government mentioned that NICE had indeed acquired additional land. BMTF (Bangalore Metropolitan Task Force) was investigating this, but last month, High Court stayed BMTF’s proceedings in the case.

There are five wards in the constituency – Hemmigepura, Dodda Bidarakallu, Herohalli, Ullalu and Kengeri. No specific party has dominance here. Hemmigepura and Kengeri have BJP corporators, while Herohalli and Doddabidarakallu have JD(S) corporators. Ullalu has a Congress corporator.

The main issues here are lack of water supply and sewerage system, especially in the villages. Borewells are dug randomly. In areas like Balalji Layout and Kanakpura Road in Hemmigepura ward, manholes are often blocked and not cleared. Stagnant water causes mosquito menace in Nagadevanahalli and Sir Visveswaraya Layout.

Road facility is poor, and so is bus connectivity. There are very few buses that go to Banashankari 6th stage, Hosahalli etc., and their schedule is erratic. Though BDA has developed layouts here, many of them – such as Vrushabhavathi Layout – don’t have proper road or sanitary lines.

Incumbent MLA

The MLA here was Shobha Karandlaje, former Minister of Energy, and Food, Civil Supplies and Consumer Affairs. Shobha had resigned from the cabinet and joined the KJP last year. She is contesting from Rajaji Nagar constituency now. KJP is not fielding anyone from Yeshwanthpur this time.

During her tenure, Shobha had initiated a drive to weed out illegal LPG connections. Though the drive succeeded in removing many illegal connections, it also caused much confusion and complaints from the public about legitimate connections being removed.

For Citizen Matters’ interview with Shobha, click here.

Contesting candidates:

Candidate name & age Party and symbol Total assets/liabilities and cases Details
H L Krishnappa
BJP – Lotus Assets – Rs 6.45 cr
Liabilities – Rs 34.8 lakhs
Ph: 9448019212
Occuption: Agriculture and construction business.
Education: 12th Pass from Thakarbapa Pre-university, Machohalli, Dasanapura Hobli.
Wife is a homemaker.
No.82, Honnaganahatti, Magadi Main Road, Tavarekere Hobli
S T Somashekar
INC – Hand Assets – Rs 7 cr
Liabilities – Rs 3 cr
Ph: 9844110779
Occupation: Private transport business
Education: B.Sc
Wife is homemaker.
No.154, 4th Main, 2nd Cross, Near HP Petrol Bunk, Jagajyothi
Layout, Jnanabharathi Post
T N Javarayi Gowda
JD(S) – A farmer carrying paddy on her head Assets – Rs 150.8 cr
Liabilities – Rs 42 cr
Accused in four cases – CJM CC-387/11 (under IPC sections 143, 147, 323, 704, 706B, 149); CJM CC-4385/2012 (IPC 143, 147, 341, 427, 149); ACMM CC-9950/2012 (IPC 471, 474, 34); and VIII ACMM CC-10705/11 (IPC 193, 465, 468, 471, 201, 120B)
Ph: 9590636279
Occupation: Business
Education 10th std pass
Wife is T A Gayathri,  corporator of Doddabiderakallu (ward no 40) which is part of Yeshwanthpur constituency itself.
No.121, 1st E Main, 1st Block,
2nd Stage, Nagarabavi,
Narasimhaiah BSP – Elephant   #30, 3rd Cross, Ganesha Temple Layout, Kaggalipura,
Mahadeva Swamy B M Bharatiya Dr B R
Ambedkar Janatha
Party – Sewing Machine
  #186/5, 4th Cross, Devaraj Urs
Nagar, Haleguddadahalli,
M K Pasha JD(U) – Arrow   Near T.B Bus Stop,
Nelamangala, Bangalore Rural
District, Bangalore-562123
Lokesh H K
BSRC – Ceiling fan Assets – Rs 5.5 lakhs Ph: 9741330700
Occupation: HR in Kaasagi Group of Companies
Education: Postgraduate
Wife is a homemaker.
No.1930, 4th Main, 2nd Cross,
Kengeri Upanagar, Bangalore-60
N Somashekar Lok Jan Shakti – Bungalow   No.14/1, 8th Cross, Badrappa
Street, Yeshwanthpura,

There are six independent candidates. To view the serial numbers of all candidates and symbols of all parties, click here.⊕

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Mumbai, meet your new MPs from neighbouring Thane and Kalyan

Thane and Kalyan voters elected MPs from Eknath Shinde's Shiv Sena. Here is all you need to know about the two winning candidates.

Table of contentsThane: Naresh Mhaske, Shiv SenaElection results for Thane constituencyWho is Naresh Ganpat Mhaske?Political experienceChallenges in the Thane constituencyKey promises made by Naresh MhaskeKalyan: Dr. Shrikant Shinde, Shiv SenaElection results for Kalyan constituencyWho is Dr. Shrikant Shinde?MPLADs spending of Dr. Shrikant ShindePolitical experienceChallenges in the Kalyan constituencyKey promises made by Dr. Shrikant ShindeAlso read: Both the Thane and Kalyan constituencies have been bagged by the Shiv Sena (Eknath Shinde led faction) in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections. The two MPs who have been elected from Thane and Kalyan are Naresh Mhaske and Dr. Shrikant Shinde respectively. Here is comprehensive…

Similar Story

Bengaluru, meet your new MPs

The BJP secured a victory in all four parliamentary constituencies in Bengaluru. Here is a detailed report on the elected MPs.

Table of contentsBangalore North: Shobha Karandlaje, BJPElection resultsAbout Bangalore North constituencyShobha Karandlaje's political experience Positions heldEducationCriminal recordAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in the constituencyKey promisesBangalore South: Tejasvi Surya, BJPAbout Bangalore South constituencyElection resultsTejasvi Surya's political experiencePositions held:EducationCriminal recordMPLAD detailsAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in the constituencyKey promisesBangalore Central: PC Mohan, BJPAbout Bangalore Central constituencyElection resultsPC Mohan's political experience Positions held:EducationCriminal recordMPLADS detailsAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in constituencyKey promisesBangalore Rural: Dr CN Manjunath, BJPElection resultsAbout Bangalore Rural constituencyDr. CN Manjunath's political experience EducationCriminal recordAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in the constituencyKey promisesAlso read The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) secured a victory in all four Parliamentary Constituencies in Bengaluru in the 2024…