Online registrations for Bangalore voter rolls open till Dec 31st

The Election Commission of India has extended the last date of registration on the voter rolls, for Bangalore constituencies, to Dec 31st. Online registrations are open now.

If you have not updated your name in the voter list yet, there is time till December 31st. Though the last date for submitting applications for all 28 BBMP constituencies was December 4th, the date has been extended now. A press release on this, was issued yesterday by the Chief Electoral Officer of Karnataka.

The draft rolls had been published earlier on November 5th. This list has been revoked. As per the new schedule, the new draft rolls would be published on December 10th, which will be available on the website Public can also inspect the rolls at the offices of District Election Officer or EROs (Electoral Registration Officers) in their respective areas. The final rolls will be published on January 28th.

Election Commission of India has said that manual applications – for adding, deleting or updating names – can be submitted from December 10th to 31st; online registration are open till Dec 31st. If you have already submitted your applications by December 4th, there is no need to apply again.

Sl. No State of Revision Period allowed for state
1 Draft Publication of Rolls 10th December 2012
2 Period for filing of claims and objections 10th December 2012 to 31st Dec 2012
3 Reading of relevant part/section of photo electoral rolls in Gram Sabha/Local Bodies and RWA meetings etc & verification of names 17th December, 2012 and 24 th December 2012
4 Special Campaign dates with Booth Level Agents of political parties for receiving Claims and Objections 16th December 2012 and 23 rd December 2012
5 Disposal of Claims and Objections By 15th January 2013 Tuesday
6 Updating the database, merging of photographs, updating of control tables and preparation and printing of supplementary lists. 15th January, 2013 to 23rd January 2013
7 Final Publication of Electoral Rolls 28th January, 2013

There had been demand from civic organisations to extend the deadline for online registrations, since this system was crippled by too many errors. On November 27th, organisations including Janaagraha and SmartVote had a meeting with the CEO (Chief Electoral Officer), BBMP Commissioner, ECI Deputy Election Commissioner Dr Alok Shukla and others. In the meeting, activists asked for the dates to be extended, since there were many issues and many citizens had problems registering.

Smart Vote has been helping citizens to register online, and have been submitting their applications in bulk at BBMP offices. Nitin Jagtap of Smart Vote says that they had submitted 1500 applications at BBMP Head Office on December 3rd. "Three of us submitted these applications. Most of the applications came from 6-7 apartments and 2-3 corporates."

Many RWAs have also been helping residents register online. Last Sunday, Forward 150, a federation of RWAs of Bellandur ward collected the hard copy proofs of the online registrations of more than 350 applicants and submitted to the same to BBMP.


  1. Anantha Krishna says:

    I am an registered voter in Padmanabhanagar constituency in Bangalore city since 2006. My name is on voter list. But recently I changed my flat on rent to another in the same apartment. Please clarify whether I should seek change in the voter’s list.

  2. Ravikumar K S says:

    I am an registered voter in Malleswaram constituency in BLR. During 2010 election my name was not in the electoral list. My ECID card no.KT/13/076/561250. In Malleswaram itself I have changed the residence. Now I want to get my name to be added in the electoral list with the new address. Kindly help in this regard atleast in the comingforth election in May 2013.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: North East Delhi — Know your constituency and candidates

In the high profile contest for North East Delhi, BJP's star MP Manoj Tiwari takes on the firebrand Kanhaiya Kumar (INC). Who are the others?

Table of contentsAbout the constituencyAt a glanceMap of the constituencyFind your polling boothPast election resultsIncumbent MP : Manoj Kumar TiwariOnline presenceCriminal casesPositions heldAssets and LiabilitiesPerformance in ParliamentMPLAD funds utilisationCandidates contesting in 2024Key candidates in the newsIssues of the constituencyAlso read About the constituency Well known for its high migrant labour population from the states of Haryana, Uttar Pradesh and Bihar, North East Delhi constituency comprises the following areas: Burari, Timarpur, Karawal Nagar, Ghonda, Babarpur, Gokalpur (SC), Seemapuri (SC), Seelampur, Rohtas Nagar and Mustafabad. This constituency has the highest average population density of 36,155 persons per square km — the highest…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: Chandni Chowk — Know your constituency and candidates

Delhi-based businessman, Praveen Khandelwal of the BJP takes on Congress' Jai Prakash Agarwal. Know more about them and other contenders.

Table of contentsAbout the constituencyMap of the Constituency Find your polling boothIncumbent MP: Harsh Vardhan, BJPOnline PresenceCriminal CasesPositions HeldPerformance in ParliamentMPLAD fundsCandidates contesting in 2024Key Candidates in the newsIssues of the constituencyAlso read About the constituency  Chandni Chowk Lok Sabha constituency is one of the seven Lok Sabha constituencies in the Indian National Capital Territory of Delhi. This constituency came into existence in 1956. It is the smallest constituency of Lok Sabha in terms of area. Since the delimitation of parliamentary constituencies in 2008, it is made up of ten assembly constituencies, which are Adarsh Nagar, Shalimar Bagh, Shakur Basti, Tri…