Revamp of Jayanagar shopping complex inaugurated

Revamping of Jayanagar Shopping complex which has been under discussion for four years now, finally got off the ground on August 4th. BBMP and BDA have joined hands for this much awaited project.

The revamp and modernisation of Bangalore’s first and oldest shopping complex in Jayanagar got off the ground on August 4th. Chief Minister Jagadish Shettar laid the foundation stone. Deputy Chief Ministers K S Eshwarappa and R Ashoka, Vijaya Kumar B N (BJP MLA, Jayanagar), BBMP Commissioner Shankarlinge Gowda, Mayor D Venkatesh Murthy were also present.

The much awaited project being inaugurated by Chief Minister Jagadish Shettar. Pic: Sankar C G

The project has been under discussion for four years even as shop owners resisted, fearing loss of their livelihood.

On the day of inauguration, N Narasimha Raju, vice-president of Traders Association of Jayanagar Shopping Complex told Citizen Matters, “We don’t know anything about shopkeepers relocation. No officials from government side spoke to us regarding relocation.”  Raju, along with Prakash Mendoth, president of the larger Jayanagar Traders Association,  were present at the function.

Addressings shop owners’ worries, S S Kandre, public relation officer, BBMP, said, “The reconstruction will have two phases. In the first phase, we will construct the demolished Puttanna Kanagal theatre to transfer all the shop owners.”

A BDA official reiterated BBMP’s words and assured relocation of the 150 shopkeepers. “The first floor of the rehabilitation block in Puttanna Kanagal theatre is for vegetable vendors and the second for fruit sellers. After the reconstruction of the complex we will shift all the shopkeepers to the new complex, except vegetable sellers,” says Ravi Narayana Reddy, BDA engineer. Vegetable sellers will stay back in the rehabilitation block, he added.

Mendoth is optimistic because he expects no disturbance in normal business. “This time, they have approached us with a plan. There are phases to the project. MLA Vijaykumar has assured everyone will be looked after”, he told Citizen Matters.

The project costs around Rs 250 crores and is supposed to finish within 24 months. Nagarjuna Constructions Company will be doing the project on BOOT basis (Build, Own, Operate and Transfer). The total cost of the project will be carried out by BDA and transfer it to BBMP after 30 years. “60 percent of the total cost will be paid to Nagarjuna during the construction period and the remaining 40 percent will be paid only after the construction,” says Nagaraj.

Two theaters and an auditorium of capacity 1500 people will be part of the new complex. It will also have parking facilities for 750 four wheelers and 2000 two wheelers.


  1. Fourth Block Shopper says:

    Please exercise caution while shopping inside Jayanagar 4th Block Shopping Complex (especially during non peak hours). There is a cartel of goondas who own gift shops and trap unsuspecting shoppers and threaten them and rob of their monies. Please see visit this link for details (Posting this purely in public interest).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Mumbai, meet your new MPs from neighbouring Thane and Kalyan

Thane and Kalyan voters elected MPs from Eknath Shinde's Shiv Sena. Here is all you need to know about the two winning candidates.

Table of contentsThane: Naresh Mhaske, Shiv SenaElection results for Thane constituencyWho is Naresh Ganpat Mhaske?Political experienceChallenges in the Thane constituencyKey promises made by Naresh MhaskeKalyan: Dr. Shrikant Shinde, Shiv SenaElection results for Kalyan constituencyWho is Dr. Shrikant Shinde?MPLADs spending of Dr. Shrikant ShindePolitical experienceChallenges in the Kalyan constituencyKey promises made by Dr. Shrikant ShindeAlso read: Both the Thane and Kalyan constituencies have been bagged by the Shiv Sena (Eknath Shinde led faction) in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections. The two MPs who have been elected from Thane and Kalyan are Naresh Mhaske and Dr. Shrikant Shinde respectively. Here is comprehensive…

Similar Story

Bengaluru, meet your new MPs

The BJP secured a victory in all four parliamentary constituencies in Bengaluru. Here is a detailed report on the elected MPs.

Table of contentsBangalore North: Shobha Karandlaje, BJPElection resultsAbout Bangalore North constituencyShobha Karandlaje's political experience Positions heldEducationCriminal recordAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in the constituencyKey promisesBangalore South: Tejasvi Surya, BJPAbout Bangalore South constituencyElection resultsTejasvi Surya's political experiencePositions held:EducationCriminal recordMPLAD detailsAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in the constituencyKey promisesBangalore Central: PC Mohan, BJPAbout Bangalore Central constituencyElection resultsPC Mohan's political experience Positions held:EducationCriminal recordMPLADS detailsAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in constituencyKey promisesBangalore Rural: Dr CN Manjunath, BJPElection resultsAbout Bangalore Rural constituencyDr. CN Manjunath's political experience EducationCriminal recordAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in the constituencyKey promisesAlso read The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) secured a victory in all four Parliamentary Constituencies in Bengaluru in the 2024…