Citizens victory: High Court stays Agara-Sirsi flyover

High Court orders the State and the BDA to relook at the project. It also ensures that the citizens say will be considered.

The High Court on July 25, 2012, disposed off the PIL by ordering a final stay on the Sirsi-Agara flyover construction work till the time the CM appointed committee submits their report. Chief Justice Vikramajit Sen and Justice Aravind Kumar ordered the stay.

Flyover work – water tank junction. Pic: Anisha Nair

The BDA counsel submitted that the Chief Minister has already formed a committee to study this project and take into account the citizens’ grievances. According to HC order, the Government will also have to issue an advertisement in papers inviting the public, to attend the hearing and voice their opinion. Petitioners’ representative will also be called to present their case before the committee.

The committee’s first meeting is to be held on August 13th, 2012. They will be submitting their findings on September 15th, 2012 and the High Court will take a final decision on the work on October 5th, 2012.

The HC also asked the petitioners to withdraw the contempt case filed against BDA and its erstwhile commissioner in the interests of amicable discussions.

The residents who filed the case are happy with the ruling. Muralidhar Rao, RWA member, Koramangala, says, “We do not know who is in the committee, but they will surely have to hear us out this time.”

Rajeev Chandrashekar, Rajyasabha MP and Koramangala resident, says “This is a big victory for citizens participation in the decision making process and must serve as a precedent for all future projects being taken up in the city. It is important that Government must choose on its own to involve and engage residents before taking up any project..” The MP’s Namma Bengaluru Foundation funded the PIL against the project.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Lok Sabha 2024: Know your MP — Parvesh Sahib Singh Verma, West Delhi

Parvesh Verma, who is the son of former Delhi chief minister Sahib Singh Verma, has made rapid progress in the BJP in past decade.

Parvesh Sahib Singh Verma is the incumbent MP for West Delhi Lok Sabha Constituency. He is a member of the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party and has won from West Delhi twice, in 2014 and 2019. Parvesh Verma is one of the many rising young stars in the BJP, who got elected in 2014 at the age of 36. He is the son of the former chief minister of Delhi, Sahib Singh Verma. He also served as an MLA, getting elected from Mehrauli in 2013. With the rise of Narendra Modi and the advent of AAP in Delhi, Verma got elected…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha 2024: Know your MP – Manoj Kumar Tiwari, North East Delhi

Former Bhojpuri actor Manoj Kumar Tiwari has represented the North East Delhi constituency for two consecutive terms. A look at his last tenure

Manoj Kumar Tiwari is a two-time Lok Sabha member representing the North East Delhi constituency. He was an actor-singer in the Bhojpuri film industry. He began his political career with the Samajwadi Party; he contested and lost the 2009 Lok Sabha election from Gorakhpur constituency in Uttar Pradesh. He then joined the BJP in 2013, contesting the 2014 and 2019 Lok Sabha elections from North East Delhi Constituency, and emerging victorious in both.   Read more: Lok Sabha 2024: A people’s manifesto for urban areas In 2019, Tiwari got 53.9% of the 16,35,204 votes cast in the constituency, which was 25%…