Of voter’s list, voting booths and preferential voting

So Sunday is the election day for the graduate constituency MLC. Here’s a guide to voting booths and how to find your name in the electoral rolls.

How can I find my name in electoral roll?
Here is the final voter roll published in the website of Chief Electoral Officer (CEO), Karnataka:

Where are the voting booths?
The names of all voters and their respective voting booths are available at http://ashwinmahesh.in/mlcvote.htm. (Lok Satta compiled this list with data from CEO office.) In another tool http://mlc2012.herokuapp.com/, on entering your name, you can get the address and map to your booth.

What is preferential voting?
In the preferential voting system, voters should rank candidates in their order of preference. You have to put ‘1′ against the name of the candidate you prefer most (this vote is called first preference vote), ‘2′ against the name of next preferred candidate and so on. Ballot paper will have only names of candidates and not party symbols.

Sample ballot paper. Courtesy BJP

You need to carry any government recognised ID card while going to vote – it is not mandatory to carry the voter ID card.

During counting, if a single candidate gets more than 51% of the first preference votes, he is elected directly. If there is no such candidate, another system is used. The least competent candidates – those who get the lowest number of first preference votes – are removed one by one.

When one candidate is removed, all the first preference votes he got, is transferred to the candidate who was ranked second by voters in those ballot papers. Candidates are eliminated this way until one winner emerges. It is not mandatory for voters to rank all candidates. If you want to give your vote to one candidate alone, you can rank him/her as ‘1′, and not rank anyone else. In that case, if your candidate is not elected, your vote will not go to any other candidate.

Voting is on Sunday, June 10th, between 8 am and 4 pm. The counting starts on June 13th and will be completed by 15th.


  1. jyothi s says:

    sir i have registered my name in the list but nor i got my voter card nor i have my name in the list why our indian govertment is so careless about fresher’s in future it will affect our life so atleast get our voter id it is 3times i have applied

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Mumbai, meet your new MPs from neighbouring Thane and Kalyan

Thane and Kalyan voters elected MPs from Eknath Shinde's Shiv Sena. Here is all you need to know about the two winning candidates.

Table of contentsThane: Naresh Mhaske, Shiv SenaElection results for Thane constituencyWho is Naresh Ganpat Mhaske?Political experienceChallenges in the Thane constituencyKey promises made by Naresh MhaskeKalyan: Dr. Shrikant Shinde, Shiv SenaElection results for Kalyan constituencyWho is Dr. Shrikant Shinde?MPLADs spending of Dr. Shrikant ShindePolitical experienceChallenges in the Kalyan constituencyKey promises made by Dr. Shrikant ShindeAlso read: Both the Thane and Kalyan constituencies have been bagged by the Shiv Sena (Eknath Shinde led faction) in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections. The two MPs who have been elected from Thane and Kalyan are Naresh Mhaske and Dr. Shrikant Shinde respectively. Here is comprehensive…

Similar Story

Bengaluru, meet your new MPs

The BJP secured a victory in all four parliamentary constituencies in Bengaluru. Here is a detailed report on the elected MPs.

Table of contentsBangalore North: Shobha Karandlaje, BJPElection resultsAbout Bangalore North constituencyShobha Karandlaje's political experience Positions heldEducationCriminal recordAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in the constituencyKey promisesBangalore South: Tejasvi Surya, BJPAbout Bangalore South constituencyElection resultsTejasvi Surya's political experiencePositions held:EducationCriminal recordMPLAD detailsAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in the constituencyKey promisesBangalore Central: PC Mohan, BJPAbout Bangalore Central constituencyElection resultsPC Mohan's political experience Positions held:EducationCriminal recordMPLADS detailsAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in constituencyKey promisesBangalore Rural: Dr CN Manjunath, BJPElection resultsAbout Bangalore Rural constituencyDr. CN Manjunath's political experience EducationCriminal recordAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in the constituencyKey promisesAlso read The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) secured a victory in all four Parliamentary Constituencies in Bengaluru in the 2024…