No shopping mall on our land: EWS

EWS residents staged a protest at BBMP demanding the entire land be used to build residences and not share with a shopping mall. 18 other organisations supported the protest.

Over 100 residents of Ejipura EWS (Economically Weaker Section) quarters staged a protest at BBMP head office on May 29th, demanding that shopping mall should not be built in the quarters land. The quarters is spread over 15.64 acres and houses over 1500 families. In January, BBMP made an agreement with a private company Maverick Holdings to develop almost half the area for a shopping mall and the remaining area for EWS quarters.

Residents of Ejipura EWS quarters protesting at BBMP head office, NR Square, on May 29th. Pic: Navya P K

“It is illegal for EWS land to be given to private builders. Government should re-build the quarters with its own money. In the new quarters, each flat will have only 300 sq ft area, and the apartments will have 10 floors. People cannot live in such conditions,” says M R Prabhakar of PUCL (People’s Union for Civil Liberties).

The protest, organised by Dalit and Minorities Land Protection Forum, was supported by 18 other organisations like Samatha Sainik Dal, Dalit Sangharsha Samithi etc. They say that they have already approached the Mayor, BBMP Commissioner, Shanthinagar MLA N A Haris, and all BBMP corporators. “Many corporators did not even know that the agreement was made with Maverick, even though Council had passed this resolution recently,” says Prabhakar. The protest on 29th was to get the attention of BBMP councillors as council meeting was held on the day.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Bengaluru politicians across party lines bat for Mekedatu project

Environmentalists warn that the project could have a massive impact on the Cauvery forest that is home to critically endangered wildlife.

The Mekedatu project has been proposed, opposed and has lain forgotten several times over the past many decades. However, the project idea is revived during every election. The current issue of water shortage in Bengaluru has particularly spurred interest in it again. Politicians from both the BJP and Congress in Karnataka are now using the project as an election campaign talking point. Mekedatu, which is Kannada for goat’s crossing, is a rocky outcrop along the river Cauvery. It is situated within the Cauvery Wildlife Sanctuary, around three kilometres from the confluence of Arkavathy and Cauvery River. Read more: Water shortage…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha 2024: Know your MP — Arvind Sawant, Mumbai South

Two-time MP Arvind Sawant and a candidate for upcoming elections for Uddhav Thackeray's Sena faction, is confident of winning.

Name: Arvind Sawant Constituency: Mumbai South Two-term member of Parliament from Mumbai South constituency, Arvind Sawant, 73, started his political journey as a party worker with the Shiv Sena, when he started participating in agitations such as the Maharashtra- Karnataka border dispute protests.  He got into the trade union movement, when he founded the workers union of the Mahanagar Telephone Nigam limited (MTNL), where he worked.  Subsequently, he quit his job in 1995 to plunge into full-time politics and was nominated twice as member of legislative council ( MLC) from 1996-2010. He also played an active role in the Bharatiya…