Mayor and Deputy Mayor’s wards get highest allocation

Even as the opposition cried hoarse about the revenue plans for the budget, the Palike budget has shot up by 184 crores at the final count.

When the BBMP budget was passed on Saturday, September 3rd, 171 corporators had got additional grants for ward works. While the allocation was Rs 1-4 crore for most wards, the highest allocation was for Mayor Sharadamma’s ward Shettihalli (ward number 12). Mayor’s ward received Rs 15 cr.

The second highest allocation was Rs 8 cr, for Deputy Mayor S Harish’s ward Nagapura (67).
Rs 5 cr were allocated to Shanthinagar (117) and BTM layout (176), both of which are represented by Congress.

The additional ward grants have taken the budget outlay from the earlier Rs 9196 cr to Rs 9380 cr. This addition of Rs 184 cr was given even as opposition was arguing that the budget was unrealistic and that funds cannot be mobilised this year.

Opposition councillors voicing their protest. Pic: Navya P K

BJP has no clear answers on how Rs 184 cr will be mobilised. BJP leader B R Nanjundappa says that this amount will be channelised from MLA funds and by cutting down on unnecessary spending.

The budget was passed on Saturday even as the opposition was protesting. Congress and JD(S) corporators had raised several questions on the budget during the four-day discussion from August 23 – 26. On September 3rd, Taxation and Finance Committee Chairman Manjunath Raju and BBMP Commissioner H Siddaiah responded to these questions.

The response however was mainly a reiteration of the promises made in the budget. As opposition continued its protest, Mayor Sharadamma read out a speech saying that the budget was approved, putting an end to the discussion. As the budget was passed, opposition members protested, moving into the well of the House with placards and slogans.

The Council does not have a process of counting corporators’ votes for budget approval; the approval process is completed as soon as the Mayor declares so.


  1. Divya Harave says:

    What a shame!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: North East Delhi — Know your constituency and candidates

In the high profile contest for North East Delhi, BJP's star MP Manoj Tiwari takes on the firebrand Kanhaiya Kumar (INC). Who are the others?

Table of contentsAbout the constituencyAt a glanceMap of the constituencyFind your polling boothPast election resultsIncumbent MP : Manoj Kumar TiwariOnline presenceCriminal casesPositions heldAssets and LiabilitiesPerformance in ParliamentMPLAD funds utilisationCandidates contesting in 2024Key candidates in the newsIssues of the constituencyAlso read About the constituency Well known for its high migrant labour population from the states of Haryana, Uttar Pradesh and Bihar, North East Delhi constituency comprises the following areas: Burari, Timarpur, Karawal Nagar, Ghonda, Babarpur, Gokalpur (SC), Seemapuri (SC), Seelampur, Rohtas Nagar and Mustafabad. This constituency has the highest average population density of 36,155 persons per square km — the highest…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: Chandni Chowk — Know your constituency and candidates

Delhi-based businessman, Praveen Khandelwal of the BJP takes on Congress' Jai Prakash Agarwal. Know more about them and other contenders.

Table of contentsAbout the constituencyMap of the Constituency Find your polling boothIncumbent MP: Harsh Vardhan, BJPOnline PresenceCriminal CasesPositions HeldPerformance in ParliamentMPLAD fundsCandidates contesting in 2024Key Candidates in the newsIssues of the constituencyAlso read About the constituency  Chandni Chowk Lok Sabha constituency is one of the seven Lok Sabha constituencies in the Indian National Capital Territory of Delhi. This constituency came into existence in 1956. It is the smallest constituency of Lok Sabha in terms of area. Since the delimitation of parliamentary constituencies in 2008, it is made up of ten assembly constituencies, which are Adarsh Nagar, Shalimar Bagh, Shakur Basti, Tri…