Why Bengaluru areas face chronic power cuts

Overloaded supply and distribution lines and transformers are the reason for load shedding in some of Bengaluru’s areas.

Load shedding, the most dreaded word in summer isn’t always because of power shortage. Most of it has got to do with overloaded distribution and supply lines. Here are some areas where BESCOM has identified issues and proposed solutions. This might help reduce power cuts in Bengaluru.


♦ There is load shedding in Platinum City, Yelahanka and Sahakaranagara as the cable size is small. The cables are overloaded and they can take maximum power of 40 MW only. The cable size has to be increased from these areas up to the sub-stations

♦ Byadarahalli MUSS and its lines are overloaded causing unscheduled load shedding in areas under the MUSS. A new cable of 4 km length is being laid from Brindavan to Byadarahalli. Another line of 12 km length is being laid to connect Vrushabhavati MUSS to Byadarhalli through Sir MV Layout.

♦ Current Transformers have to be replaced in Vijayanagar and Chandra layout sub stations

♦ In Rajarajeshwari nagar MUSS, two power transformers have to be upgraded from 20 MVA (Million Volt Ampere) to 31.5 MVA

♦ The incoming power lines of LR Bunde MUSS is undersized; power transformers are overloaded. The lines have to be upgraded and two transformers have to be upgraded from 20 MVA to 31.5 MVA


♦ The 66 KV cable which runs between Hoody and Kadugodi is overloaded. The cable has to be replaced along its entire length of 5.17 kms from EPIP to Kadugodi. Tender has been completed.

♦ The 66 KV cables coming from Hoody Master Unit Sub Station (MUSS) is overloaded for about 500 metres at the Brigade Metropolis apartment complex premises in Whitefield. Currently ITI and NGEF MUSS are supporting the load here. If the cable size is increased, this will no longer be needed.

♦ Areas under HBR and LR Bunde stations have load shedding now as the HBR MUSS is drawing only 66 KV power from Hebbal MUSS. The other source of power for HBR is the 220 KV line from Malur, which is far. Detailed Project Report (DPR) has been approved for laying cable between BIAL and Vidhyanagar. Once this is complete, this circuit can be extended between HBR and Hebbal; a 220 KV line can be drawn from Hebbal to HBR to solve the load shedding problem.


♦ Hoskote New MUSS is drawing power from Malur MUSS through a 66 KV line. The circuit is overloaded and the maximum load possible is 30 MW. This is affecting power supply in HSR, Grindwell and Vidyanagar areas. Another 66 KV line will be drawn from Old Hoskote MUSS to New Hoskote MUSS, to supply power. But there are objections from public against digging the land for installation.

♦ In Devanahalli MUSS, both power transformers are overloaded, causing unscheduled load shedding. A third transformer is required to avoid this.

♦ In Kanakapura MUSS, a transformer is overloaded. Additional transformer has be to installed.

♦ In Jigani MUSS, all three 20 MVA transformers are overloaded and power is shut down for three hours daily to prevent overload. To avoid this, a new MUSS is being constructed, but has been delayed due to public objections. There are plans to replace two of the existing transformers with 31.5 MVA transformers which are already available. The third existing transformer will be replaced with a 31.5 MVA transformer later.

In Attibele, one of the two transformers are overloaded, causing load shedding. It has to be upgraded to a higher capacity transformer. The other transformer, which has a 12.1 KV voltage transformer, is causing high voltage problems to industrial consumers on holidays and Sundays. This has to be replaced with 11 KV transformer (11 KV is the norm). Earlier, when the number of sub stations was lesser, Bangalore had low voltage issues. Now that there are more stations, low voltage issues do not exist and hence high voltage transformers are not needed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Mumbai, meet your new MPs from neighbouring Thane and Kalyan

Thane and Kalyan voters elected MPs from Eknath Shinde's Shiv Sena. Here is all you need to know about the two winning candidates.

Table of contentsThane: Naresh Mhaske, Shiv SenaElection results for Thane constituencyWho is Naresh Ganpat Mhaske?Political experienceChallenges in the Thane constituencyKey promises made by Naresh MhaskeKalyan: Dr. Shrikant Shinde, Shiv SenaElection results for Kalyan constituencyWho is Dr. Shrikant Shinde?MPLADs spending of Dr. Shrikant ShindePolitical experienceChallenges in the Kalyan constituencyKey promises made by Dr. Shrikant ShindeAlso read: Both the Thane and Kalyan constituencies have been bagged by the Shiv Sena (Eknath Shinde led faction) in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections. The two MPs who have been elected from Thane and Kalyan are Naresh Mhaske and Dr. Shrikant Shinde respectively. Here is comprehensive…

Similar Story

Bengaluru, meet your new MPs

The BJP secured a victory in all four parliamentary constituencies in Bengaluru. Here is a detailed report on the elected MPs.

Table of contentsBangalore North: Shobha Karandlaje, BJPElection resultsAbout Bangalore North constituencyShobha Karandlaje's political experience Positions heldEducationCriminal recordAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in the constituencyKey promisesBangalore South: Tejasvi Surya, BJPAbout Bangalore South constituencyElection resultsTejasvi Surya's political experiencePositions held:EducationCriminal recordMPLAD detailsAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in the constituencyKey promisesBangalore Central: PC Mohan, BJPAbout Bangalore Central constituencyElection resultsPC Mohan's political experience Positions held:EducationCriminal recordMPLADS detailsAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in constituencyKey promisesBangalore Rural: Dr CN Manjunath, BJPElection resultsAbout Bangalore Rural constituencyDr. CN Manjunath's political experience EducationCriminal recordAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in the constituencyKey promisesAlso read The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) secured a victory in all four Parliamentary Constituencies in Bengaluru in the 2024…