Martyrs’ families honoured on Vijay Diwas

The families of Rifleman K S Ravindra who was killed in J&K and BSF Constable Bheema Shankar Hadapad, who lost his life to naxals in Chattisgarh were among those honoured at a Vijay Diwas ceremony on December 16th.

Vijay Diwas was observed on December 16th in Bangalore by placing wreaths and paying homage to the statue of Unknown Soldier at the National Military Memorial Park premises. The day marks Indian victory in the war over Pakistan in 1971 which resulted in the liberation of Bangladesh.

65-year-old Bakya Mary, widow of late Sapper Philomina Raj, being honoured by Lokayukta Justice Santosh Hegde. Pic: Flag of Honour foundation.

The Flags of Honour Foundation honoured families of martyrs from Karnataka – Rifleman K.S. Ravindra who was killed fighting terrorist in Jammu & Kashmir and BSF Constable Bheema Shankar Hadapad, who lost his life fighting the naxals in Chattisgarh and handed over a cheque of Rs. 1 lakh each.

The Foundation also offered financial assistance in kind to Bakya Mary, 65-year-old widow of late Sapper Philomina Raj. She was deserted by her children and wanted to live a life with dignity by earning a living. Mary requested for items consisting of commercial idly maker and accessories, which was handed over to her at the function.

Among the dignitaries present were Lokayukta Justice Santosh N Hegde, Home Minister R Ashoka, Higher Education Minister Dr V S Acharya, State Law and Parliamentary Affairs Minister S Suresh Kumar.

The Flags of Honour Foundation is an initiative of Rajeev Chandrasekhar, Member of Parliament in the Rajya Sabha, who is also the principal donor of the foundation. It is an endeavour to be a platform and a bridge between the citizens who seek to help and the martyr’s families.

"Bravery and the sacrifices made by our Armed Forces personnel go largely unrecognized, unappreciated by the nation and Flags of Honour Foundation is an endeavour to be a platform and a bridge between the citizens who seek to help and the martyr’s families", says Chandrasekhar.

The foundation’s objective is to ensure that India’s fallen heroes are never forgotten and believes that the greatest measure of respect that one can bestow upon a fallen hero is by supporting the family and strives to understand their needs. The foundation identifies the need and requirements of the families of martyrs and effectively route financial, social, and material support and ensure that that the families of the martyrs never endure alone.

Citizens who wish to support the martyrs’ family can make their donations on /

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Lok Sabha 2024: Parties push guarantees, as Delhi voters look beyond local issues

A complete round-up of the key issues in different constituencies, and talking points among voters, as Delhi prepares to vote on May 25th.

Delhi often stands for India, more specifically, the Government of India. Come May 25, perhaps the fiercest electoral battle to win and form the next government at the Centre will take place in the National Capital Territory of Delhi. But why 'fiercest'? That’s because in the 16th and 17th Lok Sabha elections, the Narendra Modi-led Bharatiya Janata Party won a majority and formed the government, but was swept aside in the National Capital Territory of Delhi assembly elections by a ‘toddler’ Aam Aadmi Party.  It’s also the fiercest because of the constant tussle between the two — since Delhi is…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: East Delhi — Know your constituency and candidates

BJP candidate Harsh Malhotra is up against AAP candidate Kuldeep Kumar in East Delhi. Take a look at their profiles and of others in the fray.

Table of contentsAbout the constituencyMap of the constituencyFind your polling boothIncumbent MP : Gautam Gambhir, BJPOnline presenceCriminal casesPositions HeldPerformance in ParliamentMPLAD funds utilisationCandidates contesting in 2024Key candidates in the newsIssues of the constituencyAlso read About the constituency East Delhi Lok Sabha Constituency is one of the seven parliamentary constituencies in the Indian National Capital Territory of Delhi. Constituted in 1966, it is one of the most densely populated constituencies with a population of around 25 lakh. It comprises the following areas: Gandhi Nagar, Shahdara, Krishna Nagar, Laxmi Nagar Vishwas Nagar, Patparganj, Janpura, Trilokpuri (SC), Kondli (SC) and Okhla.  As of…