Budget allocation for your ward

The BBMP budget 2010-11 has made special allocations for each of the 198 wards and 28 assembly constituencies. Here is the detailed break-up.

The BBMP has approved a budget of Rs 8848 crores for 2010-11. Additionally each of the 198 corporators have also been given Rs 2 crores (old wards) and Rs 3 crores (new wards). But after complaints from several corporators about the ward grants being insufficient, separate grants have been allocated for each ward to undertake special works and build ward offices.

These are the grants in the budget which can directly be used by a corporator to decide on projects. This also gives a chance for citizens to interact with their corporator to prioritise what works need to be carried out in the ward.

The following are the special grants allocated for each ward.

BBMP Budget 2010 Special Grants Ward-wise

Chairman of the Taxation and Finance Standing Committee, P N Sadashiva, says corporators and engineers will have to work together to submit what is called as ‘Programme of Work’ or PoW. A PoW will contain a detailed list of all works to be carried out in a ward. Once works are approved, the budget for that project will be sanctioned. Though no deadline has been set for submitting the PoW, Sadashiva says corporators are likely to submit this within the next one month. 


The BBMP budget also includes grants for each of the assembly constituencies (ACs). A total of Rs 135 crores has been earmarked for development works in ACs. “The ward grants that we have given may not be enough for some wards, since some wards are less developed than others. So work can be taken up through AC grants”, explains Sadashiva.

The following are special grants for 12 ACs apart from the ear-marked Rs 135 crores for 28 ACs.

BBMP Budget 2010-11 Assembly Constituency grants

The BBMP budget also includes allocations for 35 special works. They are as follows:

BBMP Budget 2010-11 Special Works


  1. Vinay Sreenivasa says:

    thanks! usefull stuff. would it be possible to share as a spreadsheet, by uploading somewhere?

  2. B Dutta says:

    Thanks, this seems to be really useful information.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: North East Delhi — Know your constituency and candidates

In the high profile contest for North East Delhi, BJP's star MP Manoj Tiwari takes on the firebrand Kanhaiya Kumar (INC). Who are the others?

Table of contentsAbout the constituencyAt a glanceMap of the constituencyFind your polling boothPast election resultsIncumbent MP : Manoj Kumar TiwariOnline presenceCriminal casesPositions heldAssets and LiabilitiesPerformance in ParliamentMPLAD funds utilisationCandidates contesting in 2024Key candidates in the newsIssues of the constituencyAlso read About the constituency Well known for its high migrant labour population from the states of Haryana, Uttar Pradesh and Bihar, North East Delhi constituency comprises the following areas: Burari, Timarpur, Karawal Nagar, Ghonda, Babarpur, Gokalpur (SC), Seemapuri (SC), Seelampur, Rohtas Nagar and Mustafabad. This constituency has the highest average population density of 36,155 persons per square km — the highest…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: Chandni Chowk — Know your constituency and candidates

Delhi-based businessman, Praveen Khandelwal of the BJP takes on Congress' Jai Prakash Agarwal. Know more about them and other contenders.

Table of contentsAbout the constituencyMap of the Constituency Find your polling boothIncumbent MP: Harsh Vardhan, BJPOnline PresenceCriminal CasesPositions HeldPerformance in ParliamentMPLAD fundsCandidates contesting in 2024Key Candidates in the newsIssues of the constituencyAlso read About the constituency  Chandni Chowk Lok Sabha constituency is one of the seven Lok Sabha constituencies in the Indian National Capital Territory of Delhi. This constituency came into existence in 1956. It is the smallest constituency of Lok Sabha in terms of area. Since the delimitation of parliamentary constituencies in 2008, it is made up of ten assembly constituencies, which are Adarsh Nagar, Shalimar Bagh, Shakur Basti, Tri…