23 candidates endorsed by B.PAC get elected to the city council in the BBMP elections 2015

B.PAC had endorsed 50 candidates across parties for the BBMP Elections. 23 of them have been elected as corporators. A participant from the B.CLIP program was elected too.

Bangalore Political Action Committee (B.PAC), a citizen’s group that aims for better governance in Bangalore, and to enhance the quality of life of every citizen, had earlier announced the names of 50 candidates that met B.PAC endorsement criteria for BBMP elections 2015.

The full list of B.PAC endorsed candidates for the BBMP Elections. Pic: B.PAC (Click to view larger image)

23 of these 50 candidates from across political party and spread over seven zones of BBMP have been elected by the voters of their ward. These candidates are all set to swear in as corporators in the BBMP council. Earlier, five B.PAC endorsed candidates won the State Assembly elections in 2013, three the Lok Sabha elections in 2014.

Of the 23 candidates who have made it to the BBMP council, there are 10 female and 13 male candidates.

Political Parties





















Kiran Mazumdar Shaw, President B.PAC said, “We are extremely happy to know that 23 of the 50 endorsed candidates, and Sampath Kumar R, B.CLIP participant from Vasanthanagar Ward won the BBMP 2015 elections. This number needs to go up significantly in order to ensure good and clean governance at the ward level. We hope future elections will be better organised so as to give citizens ample time to evaluate the contesting candidates and choose the best.”

Evaluation criteria to identify candidates

The endorsement process was based on certain key elimination and selection criteria.

Elimination Criteria

  • Serious criminal record
  • History of violence/abuse (whether convicted in a court of law or not) against women or children
  • Record of misuse of any public office for private gain
  • Shadow contestant (relative of sitting corporators, senior political leaders) where candidate is not socially or politically active in the ward

Selection Criteria

  • Visible engagement in public service
  • Recognition in the community for leadership of civic issues
  • Demonstrated capability to improve the ward
  • Accessibility to public
  • No conflict of interest between public office and private interest
  • Education qualification and youth was an added weightage

B.PAC endorsed winning candidates


Zone Ward no and name Party Candidate Name
Mahadevapura 84 – Hagadur INC R Uday kumar
South 156 – Srinagar BJP J N Savitha
165 – Ganesh Mandir ward BJP Lakshmi Umesh
169 – Byrasandra BJP N Nagaraju
172 – Madivala INC Manjunath Reddy
176 – BTM Layout JDS K Devdas
East 63 – Jayamahal INC M K Gunashekar
110 – Sampangiram Nagar INC R Vasanth Kumar
33 – Manorayanapalya INC Abdul Wajid
88 – Jeevanbhima Nagar BJP Veenakumari Ramakrishna
78 – Pulikeshinagar INC A R Zakir
West 35 – Aramane Nagar BJP Sumengala Keshav
45 – Malleswaram BJP Jayapal N
65 – Kadu Malleshwar Ward BJP Manjunatharaju
94 – Gandhinagar INC R J Latha
100 – Basaveshwara Nagar BJP Umavathi Padamaraj
108 – Srirammandira BJP Deepa Nagesh
136 – Jagajivanaramnagar INC Seema Althaf Khan
128 – Nagarabhavi BJP Mohan Kumar
Bommanahalli 174 – HSR Layout BJP K Gurumurthy Reddy
187 – Puttenahalli BJP Prabhavathi Ramesh
Rajarajeshwari Nagar 38 – HMT Ward INC S Asha Rani
Yelahanka 4 – Yelahanka Satellite Town BJP Satish M


B.PAC believes that municipal elections have the largest impact in our everyday lives, as basic and essential services like water, roads, sewage etc all come under the purview of a corporator. 

Revathy Ashok, CEO of B.PAC added, “B.PAC congratulates the winning candidates and looks forward to working with these elected representatives closely to bring about significant improvement in the top issues in their respective wards based on the findings of the B.PAC–Daksh survey of 10,000 citizens across the city.”

TV Mohandas Pai, Vice President of B.PAC added, “B.PAC has now seen all 3 election cycles in Bengaluru. We hope such endorsement will be a signaling effect for political parties to field candidates with good credentials, who do not have criminal backgrounds and are not shadow corporators. We also hope that in the years to come, voters will also vote responsibly for a person who will continuously strive to improve ward quality and provide clean governance.”

About B.PAC

Bangalore Political Action Committee (B.PAC) is a citizen’s group that aims to improve governance in Bangalore and to enhance the quality of life of every citizen.  

B.PAC is specifically targeting good governance practices, integrity and transparency in all arms of the government, improving the quality of infrastructure in the city, identification and support of strong candidates for public office at all levels of governance in Bangalore city and the creation of a safer city where the rule of law is ensured for all citizens of Bangalore.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Elections 2024: What Chennai residents and civic groups want their MPs to address

Civic organisations in Chennai have voiced several concerns and put forward demands for clean air, better mobility, housing and fisher welfare.

With the 2024 Lok Sabha elections around the corner, the candidates contesting in the polls are busy campaigning to garner votes. Every one of them makes their poll promises during these campaigns, but very few of these are fulfilled in reality. Voters in the city want pending issues to be addressed. Meanwhile, various civic groups in the city have a plethora of demands that they are putting forward for the political parties and their candidates representing the different constituencies in Chennai. Here are a few such demands that the civic groups in Chennai would like to highlight for the progress…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Chennai North — Know your constituency and candidates

North Chennai constituency has ports and polluting industries that endanger the ecology and have always been in conflict with the residents here.

Chennai North is a Lok Sabha constituency composed of the assembly segments including Royapuram, Kolathur, T.V.K.Nagar, Perambur, Thiruvottiyur and Dr Radhakrishnan Nagar. This constituency elected its first Member of Parliament in 1957. The incumbent MP is Dr. Kalanidhi Veeraswamy. Chennai North is not only home to many red-category industries that stretch from North Chennai through Manali to Ennore but also hosts the city’s largest garbage dump — Kodungaiyur dump yard. The constituency has two coal-fired power plants and their ash dumps, coal stacking yards, a 10.5 million tonnes/year petroleum refinery, dozens of petrochemical industries, fertiliser plants, three large ports and…