Two-hour power cuts to continue, as per area-wise schedule

BESCOM’s current load shedding schedule for Bengaluru is two hours of no power everyday - in batches, timed by each feeder station.

To the casual observer, power cuts in the city have been erratic and without warning, however, BESCOM officials say these are very much scheduled.

Three months ago, on February 25th 2010, BESCOM issued a notification on when there will be power cuts for domestic, commercial and industrial feeders. This was in view of the upcoming summer season.

The notification had said that there will be two hours of power cuts everyday in batches – one hour in the morning and one hour in the afternoon. For example, power is cut off in an area between 7 and 8 am in the morning, it will again be cut between 1 and 2 pm the same day. Similarly, 8 to 9 am and 2 to 3 pm; 9 to 10 am and 3 to 4 pm; 10 to 11 am and 4 to 5 pm.

This is for domestic feeders. A feeder is part of the distribution network and is connected to a BESCOM sub-station.

This is a BESCOM notification announcing the timings of power cuts. Courtesy: BESCOM. (Click on the image to enlarge)

V A Rodrigues, Communications Officer, BESCOM, says the decision regarding when (batch timing) to cut power for a certain area is at taken at the feeder level and is not centralised. Also, rotation of batches will be once in a week, that is, on every Monday.

For all commercial feeders in Bengaluru, the two-hour power cut is between 11 am to 1 pm.

For industrial feeders, the batches are as follows: 10 am to 12 noon, 12 noon to 2 pm, 2 pm to 4 pm and 4 pm to 6 pm.

For a city which has a demand of about 1700 mega watts (MW) during peak hours (mornings and late evenings), BESCOM supplies about 1300 MW of electricity, says Rodrigues. The average demand is about 1300 MW, therefore making the shortage only during peak hours, he adds.

You can contact BESCOM’s toll-free helpline at: 1800-425-26-27

Official sources in the electricity board say that Bangalore city receives about 24.8 per cent of the total power that the state receives. Of this 40 to 43 per cent is to the North division while the remaining goes to the South division.

Rodrigues says that the above schedule is likely to change in the next 15 days when the monsoons arrive and there may be lesser load shedding.


  1. Srikanth Parthasarathy says:

    Thanks for this very informative update.

  2. B Dutta says:

    Really informative. It’s heart warming to see Citizen Matters reporting news of use while the mainstream media like ToI and DNA reports on celebrity and political gossip, 90% of which is created by the so called journos themselves.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Stalled projects, discrimination by Centre hurting Mumbai: Incumbent MP Arvind Sawant

Arvind Sawant is contesting for the third time from Mumbai South and is confident of winning the seat for Uddhav Thackeray's Sena.

Arvind Sawant, who has served two terms as the MP from Mumbai South, is raring to go as he prepares to fight for a third term. His opponents are a divided house and the official candidate is yet to be announced here. Leaders such as Rahul Narwekar, Mangal Prabhat Lodha, Yeshwant Jadhav are eyeing this seat. So is Milind Deora, who has already been nominated to the Rajya Sabha now and had previously lost to Sawant in the two Lok Sabha elections in 2014 and 2019.  Mumbai South is comprised of the assembly constituencies of Colaba, Mumbadevi, Byculla, Malabar Hill,…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha 2024: Know your MP – P C Mohan, Bangalore Central Constituency

With a long history in politics, the three-time MP, P C Mohan, is all set to contest from Bangalore Central constituency.

P. Chikkamuni Mohan or P C Mohan, from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), is a three-time Lok Sabha MP representing Bangalore Central constituency. He was the MLA of Chickpet assembly constituency for two terms, from 1999 to 2008. He got elected as MP in the 15th (2009), 16th (2014) and 17th (2019) Lok Sabha elections from Bangalore Central. As per this report card In 2019, Mohan got 6,02,853 votes (50.35%); while his rival Rizwan Arshad of Indian National Congress (INC) got 5,31,885 votes (44.43%). In 2014, Mohan got 51.85 % of the 10,74,602 votes cast in Bangalore Central constituency. He…