How the Sarkar helps its class with BDA sites

Between 2007 and 2009, the state government has allotted more than 350 sites to 'eminent' citizens across the state under G-category. A majority are for politicians, government officials and staff.

In response to an RTI application filed by Citizen Matters, the BDA has listed out the 364 allottees who were given BDA sites under G-category during 2007-08 and 2008-09. Karnataka law allows BDA plot allocations on the fast track (no need to wait in a queue) to ‘eminent’ individuals under a rule called G-category.

Incidentally, in the RTI application, Citizen Matters had specifically asked ‘for particulars for eminence’ for all people who were allocated these sites. In the BDA’s reply, the entire question of what was ’eminent’ about the allottees was ducked. Instead the BDA sent a list of 364 allottees. The list was a re-statement of a part of BDA’s own annual report. Here’s a summary.

Of the 364 plots, 200 were given to government-related allottees – politicians, officials and their staff – given by the government itself!

MLAs, ex-MLAs, ministers, MPs and ex-MPS were given 146 plots (typically 50x80s). Fifty-five plots were given to people in (or retired from) government service (typically 40×60 and 40x30s) – from drivers of ministers and typists to officials such as a Karnataka Public Service Commission (KPSC) member.

And a whopping 89 allottees were listed with ‘no documents on file’ or their details were left blank. The BDA does not know who they are.

Allottees Number of sites
Members of Parliament (MP) and ex-MPs 11
MLAs and ex-MLAs 106
MLCs 17
Ministers and ex-ministers 12
Documents not filed  89
Government servants (includes state and central government officials retired officers) 27
Government servants (staff including drivers, typists, computer programmers and so on) 28
House wives 16
Agriculturists 8
Social workers
Others (like cine artists, doctors, army officers and so on) 4

Most of the layouts where these sites were handed out included areas like BTM IV stage, HSR layout, HRBR layout and OMBR layout.

Also to be noted is the plot size given to each type of allottee. While a majority of the MLAs, MPs and ministers were given either 40×60 sites or 50x80s, the other government servants like drivers, typists and so on were given 30×40 sites.

There seems to be a pattern even in the areas where allotments have been made. While the politicians have received sites in areas like HRBR Layout, HSR Layout and so on, the government staff like stenographers and housewives have largely been given sites in areas like BTM IV Stage, possibly indicating a conscious method of allotting sites based on the real estate market.

Here’s  a scan of one page of allottees. Click on the image to enlarge.


Related Articles

Should MLAs be given BDA 50 x 80 sites for Rs 8 lakhs?
Special BDA site allotment to journalists divides media community

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Stalled projects, discrimination by Centre hurting Mumbai: Incumbent MP Arvind Sawant

Arvind Sawant is contesting for the third time from Mumbai South and is confident of winning the seat for Uddhav Thackeray's Sena.

Arvind Sawant, who has served two terms as the MP from Mumbai South, is raring to go as he prepares to fight for a third term. His opponents are a divided house and the official candidate is yet to be announced here. Leaders such as Rahul Narwekar, Mangal Prabhat Lodha, Yeshwant Jadhav are eyeing this seat. So is Milind Deora, who has already been nominated to the Rajya Sabha now and had previously lost to Sawant in the two Lok Sabha elections in 2014 and 2019.  Mumbai South is comprised of the assembly constituencies of Colaba, Mumbadevi, Byculla, Malabar Hill,…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha 2024: Know your MP – P C Mohan, Bangalore Central Constituency

With a long history in politics, the three-time MP, P C Mohan, is all set to contest from Bangalore Central constituency.

P. Chikkamuni Mohan or P C Mohan is a three-time Lok Sabha MP representing Bangalore Central constituency. The BJP MP has a long innings in politics. He was the MLA of Chickpet assembly constituency for two terms, from 1999 to 2008. He got elected as MP in the 15th (2009), 16th (2014) and 17th (2019) Lok Sabha elections from Bangalore Central. In 2019, Mohan got 6,02,853 votes (50.35%); while his rival Rizwan Arshad of Indian National Congress (INC) got 5,31,885 votes (44.43%). In 2014, Mohan got 51.85 % of the 10,74,602 votes cast in Bangalore Central constituency. He defeated his…