Domlur high on expectations from future councillor

Ahead of the city council elections, residents of Domlur meet with their ward candidates with suggestions and grievances.

With a little more than 24 hours left for the BBMP council elections to take place, Domlur (Ward 112) residents got to familiarise themselves with their ward Corporator candidates in Domlur club on Wednesday, March 24th.

The residents of the ward will choose their Corporator from five women candidates, namely L Manjula (Independent), Rajalakshmi Y L (Congress), Suguna H N (JD(S)), Geetha Srinivasa Reddy (BJP) and Sandhya Shantha Kumar (Independent). The ward has been reserved under the General category for women.

Domlur candidates

Domlur candidates at an interaction with residents of the ward. Pic: Charu Sharma.

As many as 150 residents came under one roof to highlight the various problems faced by the ward. The issues raised by them didn’t leave room for the candidates to make a lot of commitments. This discussion was organised by Janaagraha (a city-based not-for-profit organisation) along with the coordinating committee of resident welfare associations (RWAs) in Indiranagar.

The major issue that echoed all through the discussion was that of sewerage and cleanliness.

The other problems that were brought up included garbage collection, bad roads, delayed projects and Akrama Sakrama. All candidates assured the residents that, given an opportunity, they will solve every difficulty faced by the people.

Manjula said that she would especially work with the slum dwellers and give them hakku patras (or title deeds). She also added the need for a police station in Domlur.

However, the residents weren’t exactly convinced. Bala Subramanium showed his disagreement with Manjula and asked why the middle-class tax payer was always ignored?

Members of RWAs also touched upon the co-operation needed between RWAs and the Corporator for smooth functioning of the ward. "Please do not take any decision sitting in air-conditioned offices in the BBMP," said L Adhikesh Perumal from Domlur 2nd stage. He also urged the candiates to meet the RWA atleast once a month once they were elected.

Another resident of Domlur 2nd Stage highlighted the need for transparency in the whole process to make it more efficient and answerable. "We expect our candidates will find justified and suitable solutions to all the problems," said S C Burman, former Inspector General of Police and President of Indira Nagar Welfare Association.

Referring to the candidates, Burman said "Your ward is your nursery. If you want to prove yourself, you should grow in this nursery. And if you betray the trust of the people you won’t be able to do it."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Open letter to Deputy CM: Reconsider BBMP’s proposed restructuring

The letter highlights the key concern of the imminent disempowering of BBMP councillors and Bengaluru coming under state control.

Dear Deputy Chief Minister DK Shivakumar, We write to you to express some concerns that Citizens' Action Forum (CAF) and a significant section of the citizenry have regarding the proposed restructuring of the Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike (BBMP). At the outset, we do believe that there are positives in the concept. However, there are concerns with the process, a few assumptions made, and the lack of details regarding the implementation of such a major decision. Read more: Will restructuring into 10 zones help BBMP? Our concerns are listed as follows: There is an assumption that the principal problem plaguing BBMP’s…

Similar Story

Navigating apartment property legalities: A comprehensive checklist

The third part of the event report on property documentation covers the issues related to Apartment Associations Registration and Laws.

(Citizen Matters, Bengaluru, organised a citizen clinic, 'Decoding property documentation—your guide to sale deeds, khata, EC and more’, where advocate Mithun Gerahalli, who specialises in property law, answered questions regarding property documentation. Part 1 of the three-part event report series covered the legal issues related to property documentation and the due diligence that new buyers should follow. Part 2 dealt with the khata quagmire, Digital Property Ownership Cards (UPOR) and discrepancy between the owner’s claim and the information in the RTC [Record of Rights, Tenancy, and Crops]. Part 3 is about Apartment Associations Registration and Laws) Bengaluru's expansion both horizontally and…