Bengaluru’s ward reservation list released

The state government released the wards reservation list for city council seats on 23 February. The last date for sending objections is 2 March 2010.

For months now, reservations for Bengaluru’s city council seats have been in the eye of a storm. Citizens across the city have questioned the state government on the method used to reserve wards. In the process, cases have been filed both in the High Court (HC) and Supreme Court, both of who have quashed the original list released by the state.

The list released by the government on 23 February is here. Ward reservation list. 

To reserve the 23 wards for the Scheduled Caste (SC) community in the BBMP council elections, two methods have been under discussion lately. One method involves arranging Bengaluru’s 28 Assembly Constituencies (AC) in descending order of their SC population. Of this, the top 23 are considered. In each of these ACs, the ward with the highest SC population is reserved. Therefore, of the 28 ACs, 23 ACs have a ward each which is reserved.

The second method is simpler, wherein you take the 198 wards in the city, and arrange them in descending order of their SC population. The top 23 wards with the highest SC population are reserved.

The government originally attempted reservations using the first method, and also using a process that was in violation of the Karnataka Municipal Corporation Act. The urban development department originally chose the first method saying that it ensures even distribution of reservations across the city. In December 2009, both the reservation list and the method were struck down by the HC and the court asked the government to redo the list.

Click here to see population data for 198 wards.

It is this second method that the government had to follow when issuing the new list. With the second method, only 12 of the 28 ACs will have wards reserved for the SC community.

Using this method, Citizen Matters has compiled a list of 23 wards in the city with the highest SC population. The population figures have been obtained from the office of the Deputy Commissioner, Bangalore district.

Reservation ward list

As you will notice in the list released on 23 February it is precisely these wards that have been reserved for the SC community. 

Since December the matter of ward reservations has gone between the High Court and the Supreme Court twice. The High Court issued fresh dates to the state government to complete the elections by March 30, and the state government appealed that to the Supreme Court, citing a variety of reasons including unavailability of schools in March.

Now as the Supreme Court has tossed the ball back to the Karnataka High Court, the State Election Commission (SEC) is reported to be ready to hold BBMP council elections anytime once the state government releases the ward reservations list. The government has done this and the last date for objections is March 2nd. 

Updated 24 February 2010 to account for the ward reservation list released by the state government.


  1. Srikanth Parthasarathy says:

    Wonderful job. Good to see CM team is being very proactive in such matters.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

, ,

Special Project: Lok Sabha Elections 2024

Election 2024 complete coverage: Candidates, MP profiles, interviews, voter guides, choosing your MP, polling info, news, analysis and data.

Candidate lists, MP profiles, interviews, voter guide, choosing an MP, polling booth info, news, analysis and data... watch this space as we update this continuously over the various phases of voting in the Lok Sabha elections 2024 Constituencies & Candidates Get to know your constituency, and who your candidates are. Phase 1: April 19th Chennai North Chennai Central Chennai South Phase 2: April 26th Bangalore North Bangalore Central Bangalore South Phase 5: May 20th Mumbai North Mumbai South Mumbai North East Mumbai North West Mumbai North Central Mumbai South Central Candidate Interviews & Profiles Have suggested a health survey to…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha 2024: Bangalore North β€” Know your constituency and candidates

Traffic congestion, polluted lakes, poor roads and garbage continue to be issues in Bangalore North. Efforts are being made to improve traffic.

Bangalore North is a Parliamentary Constituency that includes eight Legislative Assembly segments. The segments include: K. R. Puram, Byatarayanapura, Yeshwanthapura, Dasarahalli, Mahalakshmi Layout, Malleshwaram, Hebbal and Pulakeshinagar. All the Legislative Assembly segments are a part of Bangalore Urban district.  Bangalore North held its first elections in 1951. The Constituency has had several names over the years. In 1957 and 1962, it was known as Bangalore City. In 1967 and 1971, it formed a constituency jointly with Bangalore South and was known as Bangalore. In 1951 and every election post 1977, it has been designated as Bangalore North. Of the 17…